We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great date lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobbit Cafe

Hobbit Cafe
2243 Richmond Ave, Houston, TX 77098-3308 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)
713-526-5460
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 7,287 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great date lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Take your date here, eat one of the sandwiches while laughing about it and see how they respond. If they laugh...keep them. Love these sandwiches....big, furry, funny AND GREAT!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    73
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pearland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I may not visit often but its awesome when I do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

They make this avocado sandwich, I dont know exactly how many avocados they use but it is huge! I shudder to think of the calories. The decorations inside are a must see, its a fun experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My first impression was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've always heard great things and wanted to try the Hobbit Cafe so, I suggested to a couple of friends that we meet there at noon on Sunday, 12/2/12. First of all, the patio and atmosphere of the restaurant are so welcoming. I was thrilled that they offer brunch, my favorite, and started off with a mimosa. Then I had the Avocado Omelette, which was made with cream cheese and herbs, and it was SO delicious! The potatoes that were served with it were not fried and were seasoned perfectly. The portions were enormous and everyone in our party was very pleased with their choices and the service we received. I was complimented by my friends for the great find and we will definitely return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Been by twice and both times service was terrible. First my food came out way later than everybody elses. They were almost done with their plates! Second time i just ordered a beer and they completely forgot about me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“To Veg or not to veg that is the question”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have been going to the Hobbit for many years and their menu always satisfies me. Sometimes it might be a veg only sandwich like the Thorin Oakenshield, but normally my carnivore comes out for their burgers or salmon. I never leave disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobbit Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hobbit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobbit Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.