We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious in a chic atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benjy's Restaurant

Benjy's Restaurant
2424 Dunstan Rd, Ste 125, Houston, TX 77005-2566
713-522-7602
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kelvin
Dallas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious in a chic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Bagel fatoush salad was excellent, though I did notice that my neighbor's had much more bagel chips than mine. Kale salad did not look as appetizing but I did not try it. The crispy chicken was phenomenal - great crunch, no grease, nut encrusted. Scalloped potatoes, grilled brussell sprouts, and creamed corn complemented the dish. Carrot cake had a tangy yogurt topping and dried bits of flower which was just ok on taste.

Lighting was low for the dinner hour. Chairs comfortable with chic white leather upholstery. This restaurant is not the quietest. Location is great in Rice Village where there are neat shops.

I was taken here as a client so cant comment on value.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    51
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shuttle Driver Said His Favorite Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a great meal on the upstairs outside patio on a beautiful Houston evening. Enjoyed a tasty chicken dish and my sister absolutely loved her asian salad. There was a birthday party of some type going on in one part of the restaurant and the atmosphere was festive, although the music was soft enough to set th mood, but allow for good conversation. Highly recommended for an evening drink or dinner.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good quality, variety, service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lunch with two other couples. Off the beaten path but still easy to find. Got seated before the crowd came or seating six may have been more difficult. Attentive, courteous service. Ordered burgers (beef and shrimp) and deserts. Burgers were 1/2 pound, fresh meat, flavorful, cooked as ordered. Shrimp burger with avocado had plenty of shrimp but was bland to my taste. Double fried potatoes are an example of attention to detail for food. Chocolate cake desert served with syrup and a dollop of ice cream. The place was full when we finished our meal. I intend to come back and be more specific in talking with the waiter about the tastes I'm looking for since they obviously are more than just "order takers".

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We really enjoyed the atmosphere of this restaurant and the service was wonderful but our dinner was just so-so. We ordered the popular chicken dish and I couldn't even eat the potatoes because they were so undercooked and tasted funky. I wish we would have ordered something else, everybody else in the restaurant seemed very happy. The goat cheese appetizer was quite good as was the wine our server suggested. I would definitely go there again and will suggest people to go but just don't order the chicken.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unplanned & Unexpectedly wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

New to Houston and visited for the weekend of 9/28/2012 - Went to Benjy's on Saturday morning. We were not sure what to expect and we were very pleasantly surprised! Although we did not have a reservation, we were seated immediately on the upper level overlooking the main dining section. The decor was beautiful and comfortable, very cozy upstairs. Our server was excellent and we followed nearly all of his recommendations - crunchy french toast, egg white omelets, and chicken and waffles - plus this very tasty mint-ade beverage. Service was impeccable, coffee was kept filled and hot, then to top it all off...since it was our 1st visit, our server brought us a delicious dessert of their owner's family recipe chocolate cake!
We hope we didnt offend by not finishing it completely, it was only that it was unexpected and we were already stuffed! But we all did have tastes and the frosting was decadent and wonderful...wish we would have known and we would have tried to save room!
A great experience and if we return to Houston this will go to Benjy's again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjy's Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Benjy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.