We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
5365 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5402
713-623-4600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Yorktown
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Steak was very good. I actually got food delivery over to the Aloft Hotel next door. And it was great. The food was hot and fresh still.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    41
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Yep... This where you want to be"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ahhh... When it comes to steak and seafood, Capital Grille does is right! I love everything about this place. From the rich food to the high class ambiance, just walking into this restaurant makes you feel like somebody important! I don't know if this is some place I would take a lady on a first date because of great elegance but if you want to impress somebody, this is a place that I'd take them (especially with Valentines Day coming up...). Definitely a place I would bring my wife for an anniversary or a Girlfriend for a proposal... easily!

I brought my lady here for Valentines Day and of course they hooked her up with a goody bag full of chocolates, they gave her a rose, and a complimentary drink... She really felt special and it made her day!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“High class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great food, not cheap. Long standing tradition for fine quality. Lots of people use this restaurant as a meeting place so you may see a lot of important people. The food and service is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Marinated Rib-Eye is the best in Houston! Lobster Mac-n-Cheese is the perfect complement! I've been to steak lover for decades and Captial Grille is one of the best around!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Over the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Capital Grille consistently has delicious food, attentive service, and a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. The steaks are by far the best of any steakhouse in Houston. They are mouth watering and perfectly cooked. Remington-type bronze statues used in the decor add to the Western atmosphere. The servers are always available to give suggestions when needed. A perfect place to take an out of town guest who wants to experience some genuine Texas hospitality!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.