We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backstreet Cafe

Backstreet Cafe
1103 S Shepherd Dr, Houston, TX 77019 (Neartown/ Montrose)
713-521-2239
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 7,726 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I eat here fairly often for birthdays and special occasions primarily for lunch. The food is always excellent and the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HoustonCouple58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Was expecting more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Have always wanted to dine there, had my chance. Nothing was particularly wrong, it just didn't impress. Seemed a bit pricey, but that is the way of the world. The complimentary parking is nice for some, but some guests won't valet for safety reasons, so parking can be a challenge. The steak served a table mate was 'okay'.
The other thing was the restroom. I do not understand why a high end restaurant such as Backstreet can't you fix the wobbly toilets

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too little, way too late, never AGAIN !! Shape up or Shut down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Backstreet overbooked the restaurant. The staff was running around like crazy. No bartender, just next man up if you needed a drink ! Our party of six people had our food order so messed up it made the night unbearable. Most of the food tasted good, a few of the items were lukewarm (not good for a high end restaurant). When the food came out of the kitchen, the staff put the wrong food in front of the wrong people and one of the couples were eating another couples food because our server was so busy RUNNING around waiting his other tables, neglecting our table. Our waiter and the floor manager never came back to our table to ask how is the food, etc. Finally one of our party got the attention of one staff and ask where their food was ! From that point on it went downhill. The Manager only comped 2 desserts. He should have comped one of the couples meal. Marc B.,the waiter, was pleasant but he was way in over his head in serving our group-teribble service and even poorer management. Do you hear me HUGO ? Because we won't be back !!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teddybear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“love the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I really love the concept and their food, is is a must visit... try their tomato basil soup... Will def come back

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mauriciotorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL Keys
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top quality and a value too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Reasonably priced quality food and wine is a unusual combination. The Backstreet Cafe has free valet parking, a friendly atmosphere, reasonably priced wines, and an excellent mix of standards and innovative menu choices. The food is delicious and ably served. Our fried green tomato salads, lamb, quail and chicken dishes found no complaints. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kcbbill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Backstreet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing