We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backstreet Cafe

Backstreet Cafe
1103 S Shepherd Dr, Houston, TX 77019 (Neartown/ Montrose)
713-521-2239
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 7,221 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I eat here fairly often for birthdays and special occasions primarily for lunch. The food is always excellent and the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    58
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HOUSTON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Was expecting more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Have always wanted to dine there, had my chance. Nothing was particularly wrong, it just didn't impress. Seemed a bit pricey, but that is the way of the world. The complimentary parking is nice for some, but some guests won't valet for safety reasons, so parking can be a challenge. The steak served a table mate was 'okay'.
The other thing was the restroom. I do not understand why a high end restaurant such as Backstreet can't you fix the wobbly toilets

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too little, way too late, never AGAIN !! Shape up or Shut down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Backstreet overbooked the restaurant. The staff was running around like crazy. No bartender, just next man up if you needed a drink ! Our party of six people had our food order so messed up it made the night unbearable. Most of the food tasted good, a few of the items were lukewarm (not good for a high end restaurant). When the food came out of the kitchen, the staff put the wrong food in front of the wrong people and one of the couples were eating another couples food because our server was so busy RUNNING around waiting his other tables, neglecting our table. Our waiter and the floor manager never came back to our table to ask how is the food, etc. Finally one of our party got the attention of one staff and ask where their food was ! From that point on it went downhill. The Manager only comped 2 desserts. He should have comped one of the couples meal. Marc B.,the waiter, was pleasant but he was way in over his head in serving our group-teribble service and even poorer management. Do you hear me HUGO ? Because we won't be back !!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“love the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I really love the concept and their food, is is a must visit... try their tomato basil soup... Will def come back

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL Keys
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Top quality and a value too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Reasonably priced quality food and wine is a unusual combination. The Backstreet Cafe has free valet parking, a friendly atmosphere, reasonably priced wines, and an excellent mix of standards and innovative menu choices. The food is delicious and ably served. Our fried green tomato salads, lamb, quail and chicken dishes found no complaints. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Backstreet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backstreet Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.