We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb south american restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Churrascos

Churrascos
2055 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77098
(713) 527-8300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Churrascos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shepherd
Description: Further south than you have ever been before for dinner.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb south american restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I don't know how authentic it is, but what i do know is the food is always delicious. Superb appetizers, veggies, and steaks. Always look forward to going there whenever we visit Houston.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    70
    45
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Churrascos has been voted Esquires top 20 steaks in America, and we just had to give it a try. What a pleasant surprise! The restaurant had a quiet ambiance, our waitress was attentive, pleasant and very knowledgeable and the dinner was superb. The price is in the upper range, but the dinner was worth every penny!
We started with sharing the Empanadas. Four different ones with distinctive different taste. The seared beef, caramelized onions, cumin, malbec-soaked raisins & pimento olives, -the pulled roasted chicken, basil, candied pecans, -the pan roasted shrimp, hearts of palm, garlic, cilantro & sherry cream and the smoked ham & trio of provolone, mozzarella & panela cheese. Lovely!
For main course we settled for the signature chargrilled center cut beef tenderloin, seasoned with chimichurri. The beef melted in our mouths. Talking about being in heaven...
To finish the dinner off we ended up with one dessert each. The original Tres Leches Cake and the Caramel Cheese Flan. Oh boy oh boy will I come back? Definately, guaranteed and absolutely!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday brunch and endless mimosas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent Sunday brunch offers normal fare of omelets, waffles, pancakes, as well as South American fare of empanadas, fried bananas, roasted pig. Endless mimosa can be interchanged with endless Bloody Mary, margarita, sangria - all excellent. Attentive waitstaff, manager did the rounds and inquired if we were happy with meal - a resounding yes !

So many choices, so little room in my tummy !!! Go hungry - leave happy !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“best bet for a good steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've been patrons of Churrascos for many years and it has become our "go to" restaurant for special occasions. It doesn't have the pomp and pretense you might find in other fine restaurants thoughout Houston (and there are many), but that's what we love about it. The atmosphere is good enough for special occasions, but relaxed enough for families.The food is South American cuisine, but I doubt you'll find anything unrecognizable on the menu. Their signature dish is the Churrasco steak (tender enough to cut with a fork), but they also offer poultry and seafood dishes prepared with the same enthusiasm. The staff are always friendly, attentive and helpful with the selections of food or wine. And, according to my wife, they have the best Tres Leches. Prepare to spend a reasonable amount for your meal, but It will be money well spent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Tres Leches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Yes, the food is fantastic too, but I have to stop and rave about the most amazing tres leches served in any restaurant I've visited. I'm always on the lookout for a killer tres leches. I used to live in Houston and could eat it any time but now that I'm in Austin, I'll drive the 3 hours into Houston just to get a piece of that cake. I know it's crazy, but I'm telling you, it's that good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churrascos also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Churrascos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churrascos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.