We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for breakfast or lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barnaby's Cafe

Barnaby's Cafe
414 W Gray St, 801 Congress, Houston, TX 77002 (Neartown/ Montrose)
(713) 522-8898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 6,953 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast or lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very consistent, high quality food. Casual yet "trendy". We love it for breakfast on a Saturday morning.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    43
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always a favorite lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I love taking my dog and sitting on the patio. Everything is so fresh! The staff is awesome. The portions are huge! I love the decor inside. I took my daughter one day...she loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Dive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Houston. The service is great because the wait staff is very personable and responsive. The food is exceptional. I've tried everything on their menu. Great atmoshpere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Everything at Barnaby's Cafe is delicious. I have yet to try an item that was undesirable (which can make it kind of difficult to choose what to order on your next visit). The salads are amazing and the staff is always very friendly. The feta cheeseburger is my favorite and the portions are large. Don't forget dessert! They have some great choices (and they don't skimp on the portions of dessert either!)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Several locations close to downtown Houston. Slads are huge and the burgers are delicious. Nice patio in the one on Shepherd.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnaby's Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Barnaby's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnaby's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.