We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, food, atmosphere, all five stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prego Italian Cuisine

Prego Italian Cuisine
2520 Amherst St, Houston, TX 77005 (University Place)
(713) 529-2420
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 6,949 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: University Place
Majorca, Spain
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Service, food, atmosphere, all five stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I can't add much to the already great reviews posted here other than to say that the very few mediocre reviews may be folks who had anomalous experiences or caught Prego on an off night; and perhaps some just didn't like it. I get that too. However, I just loved this place, from the moment I walked in to the moment I was seated, served by fantastic and attentive staff, and then fed some really, really great italian food. So many places do Italian mediocre and charge very high prices for it. Prego is an exception. They do italian food exceptionally well and charge a very reasonable price for it. No complaints. This place is awesome and will be on my regular rotation whenever I visit Houston.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    44
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not your normal Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

You won't find the usual spaghetti, ravioli and lasagna on this menu. They are there, but the ingredients aren't the norm. I chose ravioli stuffed with a mixture of beef, mushrooms and cheese, covered with a delicious sauce. What a gastronomical delight! The wait staff were friendly and efficient and there were plenty of them. This is a restaurant you don't want to miss! Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Wife and I had dinner here tonight. Breads served before dinner were great. We ordered the sweet potato gnocchi appetizer and it was very good. Brown butter sauce on the gnocchi its awesome.
Dinner came out quickly, just as we were finishing the last bite of the app. My wife had butternut squash ravioli with brown butter sauce and walnuts. She let me try a bite and it was delicious. Very creamy and smooth. The flavors all worked very well together. Just a wonderful dish.
I had the lasagna with meatballs. Another delicious dish. Way more food than I could finish. I ate about half of it.
We split the tiramisu for dessert and it was also tasty. Nice and light.
Or service throughout the dinner was outstanding. We never had to a ask for anything but the service didn't feel suffocating.
We highly recommend this place if you're in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went to Prego to celebrate my boyfriend, Mike's birthday. We were seated quickly. Everybody loved the food. I ordered the chicken stuffed with prossciutto and mozzarella cheese with scalloped potatoes. It was very delicious. My dad and Mike ordered the lasagna. They both said it was wonderful. My mom had one of the specials, parmesian crusted red snapper with shrimp and lump crab. Everything was great. Our waiter was very friendly. The only thing I can say, which might seem kind of tacky is they did not bring a dessert to Mike for his birthday. Other than that, I would definitely go back to this place if I was in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Prego has been around for many years but I had not visited in a while. I was not disappointed by my return visit. Had a delicious brunch. Try the crab cakes. Absolutely fantastic. The dessert was also to die for. Service was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Italian Cuisine also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Prego Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prego Italian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.