We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least it's not a chain.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Veranda

The Veranda
2820 Chestnut Ridge Dr, Houston, TX 77339-2120
281-358-2820
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #463 of 6,953 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stonehollow Dr.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“At least it's not a chain.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Veranda is an interesting place carved out of an old house. It's beer and wine only, and does not have a bar. The food was average, but it is one of the rare restaurants in the are that is not a chain.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    4
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“needs to expand menu but great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

very limited menu and it looks like a menu right out of the 80's but the quality was good and the atmosphere is great. Just need to increase the selection. With so many new upcoming places to try, you need to keep up with al least this century

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Kingwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

First time there and it was a banquet with about 50 people. I was amazed at the quality of the food and service with such a big group. Everything was delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful intimate dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Have been here multiple times and the service and food is consistently good. I enjoy the Chorizo Stuffed Quail and the Poached Pear Salad. My husband usually goes for the Strip steak or the Ribeye and I always enjoy getting to taste his too. The music is nice and the atmosphere is very intimate. This is the place we go when we just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and sit back and enjoy a nice and quiet evening out. I will note that I have ordered the Crab Cake Veranda and the Salmon Poblano and was not a fan but think it just didn't match my personal taste preferences as my husband thought it was good.

You won't go wrong giving this restaurant a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Back for angus fillet mignon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

A year later, and the fillets got better. Fluffy, soft, tasty angus fillets that could be cut with a butter knife and came with seasoned red potatos and green beans. We wanted a bake potato, but we were pleasantly surprised with the sides included. I found a 25 dollar off coupon in the entertainment book making the meal price very affordable as each meal was 28. There were just 2 couples in the dining room, soft music and relaxing atmosphere made for a great break after a challenging work wednesday. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Veranda also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Veranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.