We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service for large parties.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artista Restaurant

Artista Restaurant
800 Bagby Street, Suite 400, The Hobby Ctr For The Performing Arts, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)
(713) 278-4782
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Artista Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #518 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Walker/Rusk
Description: A much-anticipated addition to the Houston restaurant scene, Artista offers creative cuisine, impeccable service and a perfect location to downtown Houston entertainment.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good service for large parties.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a group function - approx 25 people for drinks and dinner. The wait staff are very attentive and all courses for the meal were delivered very promptly. We chose a fixed menu w/ two selections and the quality of the food was excellent. Lighting and seating were very good as well. We'll be back!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fabulous food but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Third visit to Artista's as the setting is remarkable overlooking Downtown Houston.
Although we were dressed for the Bayou Art Festival, we were early enough to not feel too "dressed down" for the restaurant.
Excellent wine, menu that is not overwhelming but packed with flavorful choices.
But...
Waiter suggested an appetizer special that was delicious but so large that it could have fed four people vs two. Made me think he was more interested in padding the bill than being upfront. We ended up taking the bulk of it home and wouldn't you know it - they left out the fabulous sauces that went with the very $$$ appetizer.
Exceptional place but come on Arista, focus on reality!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
955 reviews 955 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“Good When Going To The Hobby Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

First if on a show night make a reservation. As expected a little pricey, but good location when going to the show at the Hobby Center. You can get there early, relax have a good meal then take in performance. To drink we had Malbec $12 per glass, for dinner 1 Catalana $9, 1 Diver Sea Scallops $28, 1 Goat Cheese Salad $15 and 1 Lamb Lollichops $19. Food was very well presented and tasty. Service was average as the restaurant was very busy, but we were not in any rush and also took our time. Restaurant can also be very loud so if possible consider that when getting a table.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good food at a price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was a pleasant restaurant in the Hobby Centre, but quite expensive for the level of food offered. Would be good as a pre theatre dining venue

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Convenient but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Food was nothing to write home about. Slow service, small portions and over priced. Seriously 32 bucks for 4 scallops? I generally peruse a restaurants website prior to visiting for the first time and there was nothing on the menu in the restaurant that was shown on their website. Need to update the website more frequently. Nice atmosphere and convenient if you're seeing a show at the Hobby center but plan on arriving early and there are plenty of other, less expensive restaurants to chose from.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artista Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Artista Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artista Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.