We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Afternoon Enjoying Tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batanga

Batanga
908 Congress, Travis, Houston, TX 77002
713.224.9500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Batanga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #538 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Argentinean, Brazilian, Chilean, Colombian, Cuban, Latin, Mexican, South American, Spanish, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Travis
Description: Tapas restaurant featuring dishes from various regions of Spain and South America, including Peru, Colombia, Brazil, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Cuba, and more. Live Latin music most nights, much of which is influenced by Brazlian sounds. The music is also piped outside to our 3,600 square foot bricked patio--the largest in downtown Houston--which features thick stalk bamboo and lush greenery. The historic clock tower sits right outside our patio fence. It's a cool vibe.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Afternoon Enjoying Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Upon reading an insert in the "Houstonia" magazine on up and coming, trendy, popular Downtown eateries, we decided to give Batanga's a visit before an evening concert at the Toyota Center. We parked on the curb a block down from the restaurant and walked on in with a pleasant greeting from the wait staff. Big screens had the Texans game on and a nice crowd gathered at the bar area showing alot of enthusiasm for the team. Nice wicker couches sat by the windows with tables so we sat on those to get comfortable and I could plug in my camera charger in a wall outlet before the concert. We enjoyed wine and bloody marys for a bit then moved on out to the nice patio area filled with umbrellas. This Tapas eatery has a beautiful menu and although not a large one, it's perfect, putting it's plants & veggies first followed by meat dishes. Being a Vegetarian myself, seeing plant-based options first on a menu gets a big ol' thumbs up in my book! I love Tapas because you can order several items on the menu, each about $5 each and fill the table with six different dishes to share with your friend. I have to say the "Charred Okra" was the best but everything that came to the table was sensational and the service was perfect. There's a stage inside for live music and a patio with little twinkly lights strung overhead, so planning a night visit on the patio or listening to music would be a nice evening too. Love to see trendy eateries catering to plant-based eaters! Bravo Batanga for hitting the mark! We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    14
    9
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Is "Batanga" Spanish for "ridiculously bad service"?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Me and my wife visited Batanga around 8PM on a Friday night. There was a wait and the hostesses technique for a wait list was to write our name on the back of a receipt. She gave two people tables in front of us then said that someone else gave them away. Hold on, were you not the hostess and did I not see you walk them out to the table yourself? We finally were sat. It took 20 minutes for us see a waitor. Looking around we knew we were in for a bumpy ride. the table behind us walked out. Our waiter took our drink order and we gave him the food order at the same time. It took 20 minutes to get our drink. The manager came out and said the drinks were on him. Another 45 minutes and no food, the manager came out again and verified our order. Food then started coming out. I am not sure if it was our waiter or the entire restaurant was in disarray. The Manager was sure trying to cover for what seemed to be an incompetant wait staff or system.
Batanga is a tapas restaurant with a cool atmosphere and a great patio. There was a live band playing Salsa music.
The food was excellent. No doubt about that. The chicken skewers were amazing. I would not eat there again due to the horrible service, but it may have been a bad night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatangaHouston, Owner at Batanga, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy everything during your experience at Batanga. Although there’s no excuse for what you experienced and take full responsibility, we were very short-staffed during your visit and your experience was atypical (four servers were unable to attend work due to circumstances beyond their and our control). We always strive to provide high quality food and service, and regret to hear that didn’t live up to your expectations and our standards. We hope you will try us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“group tried a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did the order 9 dishes plus desert. All were excellent. Sorry to see some of the other ratings so low. I've been to a lot of tapas places and found this to be exceptional. Good beer selection as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatangaHouston, Owner at Batanga, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Just wanted to drop a line to say "thanks" for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. Check out our Sunday Brunch and 3 course Sunday Supper when you have a chance; bottles of wine are 50% off all day and night on Sundays.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Hank Fasthoff
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent food, so so service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Sat at the bar with a friend, had several appetizers and beers...Octopus, gambas al ajillo, pao de quejo, mushroom croquettes, grilled hangar steak and empanadas de carne...

All appetizers were good...tasted very well....

My expectations could have been off as I was under the impression that this is a tapas/spanish restaurant....the octopus or gambas had this Mexican spicy taste that was good, however very different from what you would find in Spain or in a Spanish restaurant

The service was lacking, especially from the guy tending the bar......felt as if he was doing me a favour by serving us.
Later went outside were our server Jessica was nice.

Not sure I'll return....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Insulting service....but band was fun”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Waited 22 minutes and hit the bar ourselves after every waiter ignored us several times. Wait staff seemed to work hard but table assignments were quite chaotic and hostess quite stuck up!

Thank goodness bartender was top notch! Saw another couple complaining over and over about a messed up order and another couple gave up and left all together.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Batanga also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Batanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.