We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY AMAZING!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aka Sushi

Aka Sushi
2390 W Alabama St, Houston, TX 77098
713-807-7875
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #699 of 7,276 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kihei, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“SIMPLY AMAZING!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I searched for a sushi restaurant (where we could dine in casual attire) for about 45 minutes and finally decided on Aka. Why had NO ONE told us about this place???? The atmosphere is great, very lounge-like with a nice bar. The sushi is DELICIOUS!!! We had edamame, maguro, Shrimp Tempura, and "The Shaggy Dog Roll" and it was all spectacular. Probably the best sushi I've had, for a great price as well. Will DEFINITELY return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eze, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Sushi place in Houston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite places to eat sushi : the fish is always very fresh, everything is prepared really quickly, the service is great. They have an happy hour from 3 PM on Friday and on the weekend; a great way to start the week-end. They do have a VIP card giving discounts on the regular menu. Never disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Happy hour specials from 4 to 7 pm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice surprise. Helpful service in the selection. Relaxing cool drinks. Japanese fare with roll options. Good mix. Met our vegetarian needs. Nice seating. Good place for a date night or group night too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am a usual customer of this Sushi bar, but I always go during the Happy Hour. The sushi is good (not the best sushi ever, but it is really tasty and fresh) and Gyozas and Seaweed Salad are a couple of appetizers that I never miss in this restaurant. Quality/price relationship is great, but it may result pricy if you are going not during happy hour. Make sure you have a reservation if you plan to go during the weekend. Otherwise, the wait can last up to one hour. There are a couple of waiters super nice, and the rest just do their job correctly. I will continue to be a usual customer of Aka!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the place I go rather than sit in traffic on Tuesday afternoons. It has a good selection of cold saki, an attractive happy hour menu and some things that are outstanding.
Compared to some of the other places in Houston, it does not have the best vibe, best quality or even the best prices. What it does have is the perfect balance.
Try the fried softshell crab, hamachi Thai chili and if they have it, the ocean trout. I am addicted to their octopus sashimi, but do not leave without tasting the hay smoked yellowtail.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aka Sushi also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Aka Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aka Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.