We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice French classics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etoile Cuisine et Bar

Etoile Cuisine et Bar
1101 Uptown Park Blvd, Suite 11, Houston, TX 77056
832.668.5808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Etoile Cuisine et Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Post Oak Blvd.
Description: Visit Etoile Cuisine et Bar for an inviting, warm, European environment where fine French food is front and center. Chef Philippe offers a traditional and seasonal menu that changes to offer the freshest produce and ingredients available. Chef Philippe combines his native, regional fare and the idea of fresh, local ingredients with modern food concepts to create distinctive and delicious dishes.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice French classics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Celebrated my birthday at Étoile last night and enjoyed it. At first, we found the exceptional proximity of other diners off putting, but we quickly remembered that this is similar to what one would find in a restaurant in France. We had three courses and enjoyed all three. Service was just ok. The wine list was removed from my table without my realizing it and I had to ask another patron for a wine list. I was also asked to sample a Rhone red that I had ordered while I was eating foie gras and drinking a glass of Sauternes. I deferred knowing that it would taste terrible with what I had in my mouth. C'est-à-dire that it looks like servers need a little training with wine service, especially since it is inseparable from the food being served at Étoile. It is also important, because the wine is often more expensive than the food, and it deserves competent service. This is meant as constructive criticism, because we really enjoyed the meal and will definitely return. Anyone who enjoys French cuisine will like Étoile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Owner at Etoile Cuisine et Bar, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thanks for celebrating your birthday with us! We appreciate you taking the time to give us some constructive criticism. While they are well-versed in our wine selection, it sounds like our servers could use a refresher. We'll be sure to keep your feedback in mind going forward!

Merci beaucoup,
Chef Philippe Verpiand and Monica Bui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Wine & Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I were looking for good glass of wine... walking in uptown after a long day of Christmas shopping we ended up in Etoile with our 3 years old son. Right from the door we were well received, exceptionally served by a french wiater who suggested a great french wine and we ordered a couple of delicious plates....Excellent dining experience. We'll definitely be back whenever we are back in Houston....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Owner at Etoile Cuisine et Bar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We were more than happy to provide you with a good glass of wine and some delicious plates after a long day of Christmas shopping. The staff will be delighted to hear your kind words as well! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review — we're looking forward to the next time you're in Houston!

'Til then,

Chef Philippe Verpiand and Monica Bui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best in Houston?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Another awesome dining experience. I needed a break during a day of intense shopping on December 24 - lunch at Etoile was the answer. I have been to this resaurant several times for lunch and dinner and in groups up to 6 persons. Each experience was as good as the previous one. I highly recommend the sole meauniere, short ribs, duck confit, cassoulet, mussels with chorizo, etc! Mainly French wine list with several well priced selections. Overall, very good value.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Owner at Etoile Cuisine et Bar, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for thinking of us amid the holiday rush, Mark! It was our pleasure to provide you some respite from that intense shopping. We hope you'll think of us next time you're headed out to eat!

'Til then,
Chef Philippe Verpiand and Monica Bui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An authentic French restaurant in Houston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited this restaurant with a group of friends. The service was excellent. The menu and the food was very authentic. In short, I would recommend this restaurant as the closest French dining experience you can get in Houston.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Owner at Etoile Cuisine et Bar, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for your recommendation! We're flattered to hear you think ours is the most authentic French dining experience in Houston. Hope to have you back again soon!

'Til then,
Chef Philippe Verpiand and Monica Bui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Closest Thing To Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

If you can't fly to Paris for dinner then Etoile is the place! Absolutely fabulous food with magnificent service! Two couples....four appetizers.....foie gras, escargot, mussels and seared foie gras....all were super. The mains....sole, filet with peppercorn sauce, braised lamb shank and risotto.....all were deserving of a comeback trip. Sure we had desert, coffee and great wine! Wonderful restaurant....looking forward returning!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica B, Owner at Etoile Cuisine et Bar, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for this stellar recommendation! Reading that you think our food is the closest thing to Paris absolutely made our day — that's a compliment we won't soon forget. We can't wait to have you back!

Merci beaucoup,
Chef Philippe Verpiand and Monica Bui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etoile Cuisine et Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Etoile Cuisine et Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etoile Cuisine et Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.