We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And I'm from Kansas City...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stockyard Bar-B-Q

Stockyard Bar-B-Q
6504 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77057
+1 713-782-3500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #517 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Description: Houston's finest true Texas Barbecue.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“And I'm from Kansas City...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hands down the best BBQ I've ever had. I got to watch a guy carve my brisket off right in front of me. Fries are made right when you order. The food was fantastic, but the service was even better. There were 3 guys working, and you could tell that they really enjoyed their job.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a nice place to get BBQ in this area. The atmosphere is pleasant and the location is good, but a little hard to get to if you are going on the opposite side of the street. There is a good choice of meats and we tried several of them. The french fries are made to order, so they are definitely fresh. The brisket was especially good. They apparently make their own sauce and it is available in either mild or spicy. Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like Butter To Die For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Small to medium sized barely noticable Bar-B-Q on Westheimer amongst the many strip mini-malls and fast food joints BUT WORTH THE TRIP. Succulent, soft, rich, smoky, melt in your mouth sliced beef. Real unpretentious, cheap and tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texasboy1969, Owner at Stockyard Bar-B-Q, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
thank you for your business and your positive review. please come back an bring some friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ in Houston, brisket do tender and ribs are amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The turkey breast my wife ordered was really moist and had really great rosemary flavor.
The heart attack potatoes! Are just out of this world.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockyard Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stockyard Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockyard Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.