We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW...Great spot, but they moved...."take notice"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellissimo

Bellissimo
6500 N. Main St., Houston, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #918 of 7,276 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Coldspring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WOW...Great spot, but they moved...."take notice"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Trip Advisor still has it wrong on their map and website. In fact, you can't even find it if you enter the name of the restaurent and the City of Houston. Top secret, I guess. We went on Halloween night. All the wait staff knocked themselves out with costumes, and music, and all. Food is the best, and plentiful, too plentiful, for a quality price. Great waitstaff attention. The chef and kitchen does it all with care and presentation. You have to try this place for Italian, with a bit of latino flare. It's on Airline Drive now, just north of Calvacade (south of 610 about 6-8 blocks). We did seafood this time......the red snapper, and also the tuna w pepper sauce......Mmmmm....mmm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“If you know good Italian food its here Bellissimo Ristorante”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great Italian food at great prices for the quality. Nice wine list at such great prices. Note if your not used to great Italian food don't be rude and compared to olive garden or collinas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms Gulfcoast
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant several times and have yet to be disappointed. On my last visit I had a jalapeno pasta dish made with a creamy garlic sauce and grilled chicken. It was superb. The pasta was tender with just a hint of jalapeno. The portion was generous and the service was great. My husband had the special which was baked red fish with a seafood cream sauce over pasta. We love the food here and just keep coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Stop reading...just go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Bellissimo is wonderful! The service was warm and friendly from the moment we walked in (Thurs. night, party of 4), until the minute we left. Our server was helpful with recommendations, and promptly refilled our water glasses, brought our app, etc. We had the calamari to start with, which was lightly fried and not too greasy. I would have preferred that the marinara dipping sauce be a bit chunkier, but it was well-seasoned. For entrees - get the snapper special. It is to die for! Also excellent are their pizzas, which come with all kinds of topping combinations you won't find at a run -of-the-mill pizza joint. The lasagna was also fresh and delicious, and for a lighter entree, the vegetable pasta was a good choice.

Definitely grab a bottle of wine and try it out for yourself - you will not be disappointed!

Cheers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
“Great Food, but Poor Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant when it was at its old location on N. Main many times. Now they have moved east onto Airline, in a less-desireable area. The chef, an exceptional cook, prepares the food with expertise. The tables have linen table cloths. We can only say good things about the food. We like the make your own pasta. IF the owner would have spent more $ and moved west into the Heights instead of where he moved, the concept would have been better and the prices would have supported the location. The prices have increased considerably. They are reasonable for the Heights, but not for where they are now located. We will now go to Collinas Italian in the Heights on 19th St. where the cork fee is a couple of dollars, here it went up to $10.00. Again, $10.00 is OK for the Heights, but this location/area is more suitable for Mexican food (Spanish Flower, Teochanan, etc). Oh, and there used to be a line at the old location to wait to get in, here we went on a SATURDAY evening at 6pm and there were 3 tables of diners, only . Finally, this no longer looks like an Italian restaurant to us, but the converted vast space Chinese buffet it once was. They also sold restaurant.com coupons and then stopped taking them, rather than honoring them. We'll stick with Collinas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellissimo also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bellissimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellissimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.