We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot more work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bayou City Bike Tours

Bayou City Bike Tours
1824 Spring Street, Houston, TX 77008
1 (832) 387-5631
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bayou City Bike Tours invites you join us in exploring the city we love. Houston is known for its gracious hospitality and laid-back personality, and there is no better way to see it than by bike! We offer two tours.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Needs a lot more work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The tour guide was not from Houston and it showed. There were multiple places that we passed by on the Downtown tour, and he didn't even point out what the buildings were. We passed directly behind the jail, the courthouses, wortham theater, central post office, hobby center, houston ballet, George R Brown convention center, the Metrorail, etc. For someone who is visitng, they would never know. Be aware that ~1 hour of this tour you have paid for is a "break". This "break" includes leaving your bike with the tour guide while everyone gets food on your own dime.

On a good note, there were some interesting places that he took us to that as a native Houstonian, I did not know existed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Customized Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went out with a group of friends and fellow Houstonians and had a great experience. Being from Houston we were able to customize and tailor our own trip! Along the way we were refreshed about our great history and some unique Heights history that we didn't know. Taking in the Heights by bike is the best way to go.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Super fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I signed up for the downtown tour...I had a friend in town that had never been to Houston and I was looking for a fun and active way to show off my city! The guides were great, the bikes comfy and easy to ride, and the only time the smile disappeared from my face was when the tour ended. I'm looking forward to trying the Heights tour when I get a chance. I grew up in Houston, but a lot has changed while I was away. Sign up for a tour, even if you are local! You won't regret it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome bike tour of Houston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Jon was a really friendly and knowledgeable tour guide! We drove safely all over Houston and he was very amenable to anything we said we wanted to see. He told us about the history and of various sites we were seeing. It was very enjoyable!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Emma's Birthday Bike Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

John and Phil were awesome! Had a great time! We went throughout the Heights and learned a little about Houston along the way!
They were also very accomidating with our group!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou City Bike Tours also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bayou City Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayou City Bike Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.