We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenicia Market Bar

Phoenicia Market Bar
1001 Austin Street, Houston, TX
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 7,219 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: I think Middle Eastern. We were referred by locals, on the street. Food was great. Service was excellent. Beer was cold!
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Downtown Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The bar serves really good food and has an excellent selection of wines and beers, some of which (the beers that is) are local hand crafted brews. There's live music most days and it has a nice atmosphere when busy. Whether you want to drop in for a morning coffee, a lunchtime snack or an evening drink, the MKT bar is a little oasis in downtown Houston. The Phoenicia deli next door is an amazing place and it's difficult not to come away without buying something!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    35
    20
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mecca for those staying in downtown hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you've ever stayed in downtown Houston you'll be well aware of the fact that there's not a lot of choice in restaurants. Besides a few nice dinners out, we ended up shopping at Pheonicia every day, sometimes twice a day. The market has everything you need for a gourmet picnic - beautiful breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, desserts, nuts ad chocolate, wine, you name it. And the prices were very reasonable. There are are also lots of prepared dishes but we preferred to stick to cheese picnic.

I wish every downtown core had a Pheonicia!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Party trays were great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had croissant sandwiches, asparagus wrapped in procuitto, plantain chips with mango salsa and a tray of baklava. Delicious food and excellent service!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in downtown Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Traveling on foot on a cold night, we were disappointed to find nothing affordable within walking distance of the hotel after 8 pm. We stopped in out of curiosity and ended up dining from their delicious and diverse salad bar. There were many other choices, including deli items, but the salad and olive bar made a satisfying meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Service and food were both much higher than expected. Coffee was really very good and served by someone who really seemed to enjoy her work. Great food selection.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenicia Market Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Phoenicia Market Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenicia Market Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.