We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same good ol Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7611 Katy Freeway, Houston, TX 77024 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #119 of 456 Hotels in Houston
Fischer, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Same good ol Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have stayed several times so listen up fellow road warriors. Does this hotel have veiw-No not really unless it's in the back by the pretty cool poll area which is up to speed.
Does this hotel have a Gondola ride to a snow capped summit-uh, no. Does this hotel face west over the Rocky Mountains or sit low by the bay in San Degio? No but then again neither do you. I will tell you what it does have, nice people, clean rooms, great female bar tender, cool managers, clean bath rooms, good chef and great location. If I want to have great views, I'll go stay in White Fish Montanna or Sinop Turkey over the Black Sea or visit Lycos Greece. I'm here on business and business gets done, bring some ear plugs, turn up the alarm clock and sleep like the dead.
Great TV, soaps, quick room service, valet service and quick access to the city-downtown 15 min, West side Galleria 7-8 min.
Good food at the hotel and multiple TV's for all kinds of lobby informal gatherings/meetings.
Nice meeting rooms and a OK work out room-if that's your thing. Across the street a comedy club and you are within 7-10 mins on some of H-towns best resturants.

For some of you new to H-town - Htown is approx 110 miles wide East to West( Baytown to Katy) and about 130 South to North (Clear Lake to IAH-Bush Airport-Woodlands) so book locally close to your destination, if you dont, you can kiss the baby.

Another great stay, if you dont need to see Mt Mckinnley @ Denali Park!

Room Tip: Try to stay in the rear of the hotel-it's less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Texasop,
Thanks for having our back! You are correct we are a city hotel that is located off the access road of Interstate 10 so no mountians. We do have a very clean hotel with a good staff working hard to become even better and our food is better then you will find in most hotel restaurants. Thanks for staying with us and taking time to complete a survey we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    59
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
24
17
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed there for two nights on a business trip and the only thing I did not liked was the view: a huge freeway. Thanks to that, I was forced to keep the courtains closed all times. It also got a bit noisy but anyway... we didn't spent much time in the hotel either.
The room was rather spacious. It had a nice living, flat TV with HBO and so on. The bathroom was big too.
The only thing that stroke me was that there was no safety box in the room. I think that's kind of odd. Most hotels these days have it. I ´don't really understand why.
In general, I liked the place. We had breakfast once and it was Ok. The usual, cereal, scrambled eggs, some pastries, coffee and juice... That was it.
If you are a runner, behind the hotel there is a beautiful neighborhood where you can jog for a while. I liked that too.
In sum, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is located on the freeway but the back side of our hotel overlooks the pool so the next time you stay with us please request a room facing back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm in Houston 25 weeks of the year and I'm usually in the hyatt or omni. This particular week I had to make a last minute reservation and the only place available was the Crowne Plaza Galleria and I must say that this was an unexpected surprise! Exceptional staff, newly renovated, and oddly quiet even though it's located right next to the freeway.

I would not hesitate in starting here again, and might stay here again if ny preferred (points) are not available. Good food, great service, clean updated rooms = above average stay in Houston.

My only gripe are the elevators. They're slow, and if you take #1 (right side), you might get stuck in between floors.

I highly recommend this over the hoity-toity downtown and galleria hotels.

Tip - joined the preferred club if not already a member. Free happy hour drinks and snacks on the exec floor (6). You can join when you check in and the front desk are more than willing to assist!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Brianwon,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. We are aware of our troublesome elevators and do have a upgrade scheduled for later this summer that will address the issues you mentioned in your review. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is at the east end of the "I10" (which is one of the arteries that divide up this expansive city and runs east out of the Galleria area to west, towards the Grand Parkway and eventually arriving in San Antonio). The hotel is 10 minutes drive from Downtown and less to the centre of the Galleria. The rooms were clean and the maids did a good job of keeping them that way. The receptionists were very friendly and looked after my cares and wishes adequately and the bar staff did the same; I got a great deal on the room too. The pool was never heavily populated and the loungers were comfortable. I spent three weeks here, out of a 6 week trip to Houston and this was the third hotel I had stayed in and probably the best one for me. You can get smarter hotels in Downtown or the Galleria but location for access to the office was key for me. So, I had a balance between the office along I10 and being close to the action of the Galleria area. Directly opposite the hotel there is a multi-plex cinema and a nightclub, as well as several eating places. All of this is a 10 minute walk under the highway or you can drive there, most people do. I would say that it is almost impossible to live in Houston without the ability to drive. Public transport is available right at the heart, in Downtown, but beyond that it is scarce. A taxi driver told me, after ranting about the Israeli's and the rights over the Gaza strip (a great tip reducing conversation!) that it is not possible to cruise outside of the centre because the space is too great and the opportunities are minimal, plus the fare would be astronomical due to the sheer travelling distance from one place to the next.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the front, the I10 can get a little noisy. Don't forget the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Bournej,
Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to comment on your visit we are glad you enjoyed your time here in Houston. We think we have a great hotel with a location that is better then you would think. While we are not in the heart of the Galleria our shuttle service is happy to transport. Our location allows us to avoid a lot of the Galleria traffic and our easy access to Interstate 10, 610, 290 and the beltway make the hotel a great choice for our customers that are here for sales calls here in the city. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel to stay close to mall & other attractions , very friendly staff and the best GM , he is always around easily approachable , I highly recommend this hotel to every one
Keep it up
Shahrukh khan

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to comment on your stay. While not in the heart of the Galleria we are close to both the Galleria and Memorial City Mall and our shuttle and our complimentary shuttle helps avoid the traffic delays that can be found at some hotels closer to the Galleria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San DIego, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great new hotel, very clean, friendly staff. Convenient to freeway, but not much within walking distance of hotel. And because it is within spitting distance of the I-10, it is a bit noisy - though the A/C minimizes some of the freeway noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing south - away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Tritonavy,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the ime to comment on your stay. Your tip to our travelers was also helpful as we are on the access road to Interstate 10 and some of our light sleepers prefer the back of the hotel away from the highway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was my first time at this hotel but not my first time staying in Houston and I will definitely be coming back. The hotel is only a year old and it still feels like new. The breakfast buffet is first class. The rooms are comfortable and classy. There is nothing to worry about with the pool because it is enclosed with sound barriers so it's a nice quiet area with cabanas and even an outdoor bar with tv. The staff was very friendly and we even used the shuttle to get across the way to get to Dave & Busters. It's a great location for this hotel. We even received a goodie bag and free complimentary upgrade for being a platinum member. The ONLY drawback deals with the elevators. They are quite slow and small, luckily there are not that many floors. If a slow elevator that smells like WD-40 is your only worry, then you have absolutely nothing to worry about!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Yvonne D,
Thanks for the wonderful comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I don't know if we are Houston's best but we are working hard to deliver the best service we can. Our hotel is beautiful and we are working on the elevators and and hope to have our dependability issues resolved soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area

Address: 7611 Katy Freeway, Houston, TX 77024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 456 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located near The Galleria Mall, The Marq*E Entertainment Center, and Memorial City Mall - the Crowne Plaza® Houston Galleria Area offers guests a convenient central location right at the I-10/610 interchange close to the Houston First Baptist Church. With over 12,000 square feet of unique meeting space, your "single point of contact" via the Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response guarantee and a Daily Meeting Debrief, we are "The Place to Meet" among hotels in Houston.Spend the day in the Houston Museum District, shopping at The Galleria or Memorial City Mall, or visiting the Houston Zoo.Reliant Stadium, home of the Houston Texans is just minutes from our hotel. From the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® program to the 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, Outdoor Oasis pool, The Red Oak Room Restaurant and Bar, plus free scheduled shuttle service within 3 miles, we provide upscale amenities to pamper our guests.IHG Rewards Members can enjoy the best "Members Only" IHG Rewards Lounge on the 6th Floor. We provide complimentary snacks and beverages throughout the day, and Happy Hour Monday through Thursday from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM with a full service bar and Hors d'Oeuvres. Becoming a IHG Rewards Member is free and easy to do at check-in. We look forward to showing you a warm Texas welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.