We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A SURPRISE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7611 Katy Freeway, Houston, TX 77024 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #125 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“WHAT A SURPRISE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A great stay at this Crowne. Compared to our last night in Addison Texas, this was a great and friendly welcome at this hotel. Staff was great, and the room was great. We felt welcomed here. Front desk and housekeeping made us feel good and we stayed a extra day due to this service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Worldtraveler2492,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your comments about our hotel and staff. We are celebrating our 1 year anniversary today and we will share your comments with the staff during our celebration. I am also very confident that the next time you stay with us the service will even be better. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    59
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
25
24
17
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I rented out the ballrooms for 3 days in April for a Fighting Games competition/event. The event had 450+ participants and spectators throughout, and the hotel staff were very accommodating to all our needs - power requirements,internet issues, additional tables/chairs as requested. Needless to say, we will be holding future events here!

As for the hotel itself, the site used to be a Ramada, then gutted to the bare structure and rebuilt in 2012. What resulted was a very nice looking hotel that contains a modern vibe to it. The rooms contain the same exact ambiance as the lobby, and the freeway noise was to be expected as it is right next to a major freeway. The bar is literally right next to the check-in desk and has a great bartender. Easy freeway access is a plus.

Downsides? I only got 10 hrs of sleep throughout the weekend (but that was solely my fault), and a slow elevator.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the hreat review we had fun taking care of your group and look forward to the next event. Game On!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

With all of the usual Hotel options booked up, we were forced to explore some alternative options and the cheapest (by some way) was the Crowne Plaza, Galleria Area (just off Katy Freeway).

Having read the reviews on tripadvisor, we were a bit concerned we were going to be in the middle of nowhere, but fortunately even though the road is busy, this Hotel was ideal to allow us to get to meetings across town easily.

You need to have a hire car ideally, as there are plenty of restaurants within a 5 min drive (so quite a long walk) and one of the negatives was that taxis were slow to arrive (allow 15 mins and get a drink at the bar while you wait is my advice)

Staff were very friendly, rooms were comfortable with decent size bathrooms and good beds.

Downsides?

Very slow lift (don't bother, use the stairs)
Need to sort out their coffee (I know, it's not a biggie but the first thing which greets you at Breakfast)

Would probably book it again, even versus the usual Hotels (Houstonian etc) to save some cash and get to meetings quicker.

Room Tip: Away from the road ideally, on the side overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the positive review we do think our location is one of the best kept secrets in Houston as we have easy access to all major roads and minutes from both Galleria and Memorial City Mall. We are currently working to improve the operation of our elevators and should have the problems resolved within the next few months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dfw
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel and have nothing but amazing things to say! It's conveniently located just off the freeway so please expect to have some highway noise (this didn't bother me at all).

This is a brand new hotel so when you walk in you immediately get a soothing zen feeling that let's your know you will enjoy your night's sleep. The elevators are very tiny but they get you up and down! The rooms are super nice, clean and comfortable and both the night lamps and the desk lamps have electrical outlets which I find super convenient.

Free WIFI is available in guest rooms and lobby area. A breakfast buffet is available for $11.99 with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, fruit, bagel, toast, yogurts etc. The servers come greet you and serve coffee immediately and I found to be so sweet that they bring out a to go coffee container so you can take coffee to go as well.

Breakfast/lunch servers were super nice and attentive. I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room facing opposite the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the review and the tip for our future travelers. Our breakfast buffet is very popular and we just made it better with the addition of cook to order eggs and omelets. Our complimentary parking and wireless internet offer excellent value to our customers that want to be close to the Galleria without all the additional expense you have staying in the Galleria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Clean, everyone said hello. Nice clean pool-updated patio furniture. Good location for business, close to Downtown-Westhimer. Rooms close to freeway are a bit noisy-ear plugs will help.
Getting coffee is strange with breakfast. You have to go to the bar and stand their while a waitress goes behind the kitchen door and and brings out a to-go cup- $2.17. In order to get a cup of coffee at a nice place like this, there is no coffee pot. Dont laugh. This is the thrid time staying here.
Rooms are nice, clean,soaps an shampoos, are good. Good TV guide, controls and A/C worked good
Traffic in the morning is terrible. To get downtown, turn RT , travel down to 1st stop light , take a left across I-10 then right on Washington, then back across I-10 east to downtown.
Good stay but they have to get the coffee thing figured out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and for your valuable comments. all our rooms do come with coffee makers with cups to go but we will review our lobby/ restaurant service to see if we can make it easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms were as expected and the staff was very friendly.

The elevators need to be upgraded as one was out of order, another would indicate it was going down, but always take you up first and the third was very slow. We ended up using the stairs most of the stay.

The service at the bar was exceptional; above and beyond kind and attentive.

We were very disappointed with the waffles when we ordered room service. On the menu, it says it comes with strawberries and whipped cream. Ours came with no whipped cream and half a strawberry on the side as a garnish. It was just a waffle from the machines that you often see at self-service breakfast bars in hotels. Considering there were three of us & room service breakfast was over $50, this was not up to par.

On a whole though, the experience was good and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Being fairly new to the hotel we realize that we still have work to do to make our hotel better and comments like this help us to identify problems and improve our product. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pleasure trip to Houston with two other ladies for some pre-wedding planning and shopping. First impressions: The foyer was beautiful. The dining area, food, bar - very nice. All of the personnel we interracted with were very courteous! The overall decor of the hotel was very up to date and lovely. Our room was a two queen bed room. This is where I was diappointed. While beautifully coordinated and beds that were incredibly comfy, the room was small. Very small. The closet was tiny I could not fit my carryon size suitcase. In fact, there was no place at all to put luggage other than on the bed for getting clothes in/out, then had to be set on the floor making barely room to walk around without tripping over. We each travel very light. We had the one carryon size bag and two tote bags. The space between the beds and the bathroom was so small, that if one person was standing at the mirror or dresser, they had to move for someone to get to the restroom or to get to the door to get out of the room. As for the bathroom, the tub was TINY - good water pressure in the shower, but very small space. The coffee pot was TINY. I mean a one cup a time tiny. There was one regular packet and one decaf. (Though when asked, more coffee was sent up Immediately). My daughter (whose wedding planning we were doing) had joined us for a day at the hotel. Going back down to the lobby, the elevator was BARELY large enough for two averge and two quite petite size ladies. At one floor, a man asked to squeeze on because he was late for a meeting. He barely fit. We were all shoulder to shoulder. Too bad if we had been carrying any luggage. However, because everything else about the hotel was so nice, I would give it a B or B+. For any longer than a one or two night stay, I would request a larger room or stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area

Address: 7611 Katy Freeway, Houston, TX 77024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located near The Galleria Mall, The Marq*E Entertainment Center, and Memorial City Mall - the Crowne Plaza® Houston Galleria Area offers guests a convenient central location right at the I-10/610 interchange close to the Houston First Baptist Church. With over 12,000 square feet of unique meeting space, your "single point of contact" via the Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response guarantee and a Daily Meeting Debrief, we are "The Place to Meet" among hotels in Houston.Spend the day in the Houston Museum District, shopping at The Galleria or Memorial City Mall, or visiting the Houston Zoo.Reliant Stadium, home of the Houston Texans is just minutes from our hotel. From the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® program to the 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, Outdoor Oasis pool, The Red Oak Room Restaurant and Bar, plus free scheduled shuttle service within 3 miles, we provide upscale amenities to pamper our guests.IHG Rewards Members can enjoy the best "Members Only" IHG Rewards Lounge on the 6th Floor. We provide complimentary snacks and beverages throughout the day, and Happy Hour Monday through Thursday from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM with a full service bar and Hors d'Oeuvres. Becoming a IHG Rewards Member is free and easy to do at check-in. We look forward to showing you a warm Texas welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.