We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8080 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #182 of 469 Hotels in Houston
Mcallen, Tx
1 review
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I can't say enough positive or give enough praise to the staff of this hotel. From the front desk staff, Debbie, Gerry, Andy, and Nicole to the kitchen staff of Francy and Amanda, the housekeepers on our floor, Alba and Lorena, and our kind shuttle drivers Jessica and Ronnie - thank you from the bottom of our hearts. You made our medical stay bearable. Each of you were compassionate, caring, and professional. Our room was always spotless, our breakfast delicious, our accommodations perfect, and our shuttle rides were safe and timely. I hope when we need to return to MD Anderson again we can count on staying with you! If I forgot anyone in particular, I apologize because everyone involved deserves big kudos. You've made your supervisors and owners proud!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Brenda S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We know your time is valuable and you chose us to host your stay. I am very glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel and staff. I hope that next time we see you it will be with good news and no more medical treatment or visits. That it will be to visit our great city! I will personally let everybody know of this review. We use reviews, such as yours, to inspire the staff.

Once again, thank you for reviewing our hotel. I hope to have the honor of hosting your next stay.

Donald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
44
10
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times because of its proximity to the hospital area. This time our stay was expected to be overnight but due to further medical tests, we stayed a total of four nights, five days. The staff is always courteous and I like that they greet everyone entering the lobby or walking down the hall with a smile. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Lenny N,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We know your time is valuable and you chose us to host your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to create a wonderful stay every time and we hope that our efforts bring you back when you are visiting our area. We use reviews, such as yours, to inspire the staff.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will continue to give us the honor of hosting your stay.

Donald
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

9 day stay, then an 11 day stay for medical reasons. Rooms are nice size, clean. Beds are ok. I appreciated the medical rate and the shuttle. Jessica (shuttle driver) was very friendly and always made sure I got out of the van safely. Francy (breakfast attendant) and Debby & Chondra (front desk) were very customer oriented and always wanting to help in any way possible. Breakfast had lots of choices. Internet was adequate for my needs. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear shale17,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We know your time if valuable and you chose us to host your stay. We are glad to offer the medical rate when it is available. We hope all went ok with your medical visit. We are glad you enjoyed our services. We use reviews, such as yours, to inspire our staff.

Once again, thank you for reviewing us. We look forward to hosting your next stay with us.

Donald
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hebron, Mississippi, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We return to this Holiday Inn Express because of the convenient location to MD Anderson Medical Center. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, breakfast is awesome, and the staff is so courteous and helpful. We recently came for a checkup at MDA, expecting to stay only a couple of days, but set-backs caused my husband to enter the hospital and remain even longer. The staff, Andy, Debbie, and Donnie have gone overboard in helping me and I cannot say thank you enough. Having a patient at MDA is stressful enough, so it certainly helped to have some of my stress relieved by them. This Holiday Inn Express is fortunate to have a caring, compassionate staff and folks like me are so appreciative. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear DiannBerry,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. We know your time is valuable and you had a number of lodging options in the area. All of us here at the hotel understand how stressful it can be in such a situation. We all genuinely care about our guests. We are all happy that we were able to be of some help. I will be sharing this review with the staff to help inspire them in the future. We all hope all goes well with your husband.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. We always look forward to hosting your stay.

At your Service,

Donald
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed for four nights in a first floor room that was extremely musty bordering on mildewy. I mentioned this to the hotel staff, but never found out if they even attempted to resolve the problem since I never noticed any change in the room's smell or had any of the staff get back to me. Other guests traveling with me who stayed on upper floors had no problems. The breakfast room is nicely sized, but typical of most chain hotels they put in one table too many for the space making navigation around the room difficult. Anyone driving a large vehicle or pulling a trailer will have problems here because the parking lot does not allow you to turn around without doing a three point turn. The hotel would be smart to repaint the parking lot to allow a loop past the rear door of the hotel and back around to the front.

Room Tip: Stay away from first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear niederw,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. We know your time is valuable and you had a number of lodging options in the area. I am sorry that we fell short of providing you with an experience that exceeds your expectations. We are distressed to hear that our agent’s service and quality fell short of your expectations. We do not want anybody to feel ignored. We are sincerely sorry for your experience. We take all reviews seriously. We use reviews, such as yours, to correct deficiencies.

We are currently refreshing the hotel and are addressing the issue with the breakfast area. We are also researching a way to address the parking issue while maintaining parking spaces.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. We hope we will have the honor of hosting your next stay.

At your Service,

Donald
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

great tv with directtv, nice location, decent rooms... i am sitting here writing this on 3g because their internet is THAT bad. calling this high speed is insulting. i stayed at work late every night sine the internet was veritably unusable for even simple browsing!

Room Tip: make sure you get non smoking if you dont smoke. people smoke a lot in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear chrislatx,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. We know your time is valuable and you had a number of lodging options in the area. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed some of our services. I am sorry to hear about the problem with the internet. I know how frustrating it can be when you can’t get your work done. We value all reviews and use them to address problem areas such as this. As of this posting, we have contacted the internet provider and have increased the internet speed.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. We hope we will have the honor of hosting your next stay.

At your Service,

Donald
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center on October the 6th and it was like coming home. I was met with a big smile and great big hug by Debbie at the front desk. Jessica, the daytime shuttle driver, Chondra , front desk at night, Francy, the buffet sweetie, Donnie, front desk and Ron, night shuttle driver all have made our stay here so pleasurable. The hotel is clean and the 3rd floor has been so quiet. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the shuttle is just so wonderful, running Monday through Friday. Stayed here for 11 days in July because of Mom's medical procedures and have been here 13 days so far this time. The fact that there is a great washer and dryer makes it so nice when you have to be here for an extended time. There is a special rate for those staying here for medical appointments so be sure and stipulate that when making reservations. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor so no overhead noise. Washer and dryer on the second floor. Handicapped rooms available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMedicalCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Nancy T,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. We know your time is valuable and you had a number of lodging options in the area. Your comments made us all smile. The whole staff loved your review. We use reviews, such as yours, to inspire our staff. Thank you again, for your review and for choosing our hotel. We always look forward to hosting your stay. We all hope your mom stays well and continues to visit us for many years to come.

Donald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center

Address: 8080 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 469 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome! We would like to invite you to come and experience a stay at the Holiday Inn Express Medical Center. Whether you re coming in for business or pleasure, see how we can make your stay a personal and unique one. We are conveniently located near the Texas Medical Center, Rice University, the Museum District, and Reliant Park. Just minutes away from Houston s world renowned MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children s, & St. Luke's hospitals, our hotel may be just what you need for your home away from home. For all you sports fans out there, we have just the thing for you too. Come and enjoy Houston s very own Texans, or see your favorite college or soccer teams battle it out on the field. The Reliant Stadium is also located nearby. Shuttle service is available to the Medical Center area and Reliant Stadium. Taxis are available for all other locations. Relax in our elegant yet modern rooms with amenities such as a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. High-speed Internet access, both wireless and wired, along with a variety of movie channels are also provided free of charge. Enjoy a deluxe, complimentary breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, Smart Roast coffee and choices of hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston Medical Center
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Houston
Holiday Inn Express Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.