We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for business at Baylor College of Medicine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8080 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #175 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great location for business at Baylor College of Medicine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent location to stay when attending to business at the Baylor College of Medicine. Hotel provides a shuttle to the medical centers; hotel is near to many restaurants within walking distance. Room was spacious and clean; free breakfast provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
QueenBee,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We know your time is valuable, and you had many options for your trip to Baylor.

We are glad you found our shuttle, location, and rooms to be satisfying.

Thank you again for staying with us, and your kind review. We hope we have the honor of hosting you again in the near future.

At Your Service,

Walker V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
9
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights back in late December. The hotel is conveniently located near many convenience stores and familiar chain and fast food restaurants. However, you'll need a car to get to these places as Main Street is not very pedestrian friendly and the immediate area around the hotel was not entirely safe.

The lobby area is compact, with a small seating area in front of the front desk. Check in was quick. My room was on the second floor of the two story hotel, which can be accessed by the elevator or by staircase within the lobby.

The rooms are up to current Holiday Inn Express standards, with subdued creme colored walls, modern decor and furniture. There is a separate wetbar area near the entryway and bathroom that houses a microwave oven and small fridge. My king bedded room had a small sofabed. The desk was right by the window. There is a huge 46 inch LCD TV, which I thought was too large for the room, but works fine.

Room amenities are: Iron/ironing board, microwave oven, safe, refrigerator, clock radio without mp3 connections.

Bathroom amenities are: hair dryer, coffee maker, shampoo, conditioner, lotion.

My gripes about the room are: (1) It's too dark. Although the photos of the rooms in the website are bright, In reality, my room (facing the next door apartment complex) was pretty dark during the day, even though I had all of the lights on in the room. (2) The wifi is unreliable and inconvenient: There is an annoying acknowledgement screen that you have to agree to, and it has to be renewed every time you turn your computer on. In addition the connection is slow...even downloading attachments to e-mails took a while! So, if you're staying for a couple nights on business and need to get work done....this may not be the hotel for you.

The complimentary breakfast is served in a small pantry/dining area at the back of the lobby, behind the staircase. Again, it was standard Holiday Inn Express fare...cinnamon buns, a selection of cereals, eggs, biscuits, bacon or sausage (changes every day), pastries, breads, yogurt..etc. Since it was small room, the dining area can get full when the hotel is busy.

Overall, the service is OK...the hotel staff was responsive to my needs, but generally I didn't feel welcome or get a friendly response. Maybe that's just the culture of the local area or the hotel itself. If you're just need a place to crash for a night or two, this is a perfectly fine place to stay. If you are going to be in town for a couple of nights, and need to get some work done in your room, perhaps you should look elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Mr Krispies,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here. Your review was thorough and thoughtful. We know your time is valuable, and you had a number of lodging options in the area, and are glad we had the honor of hosting you.

We are happy you found our rooms to be up to standard, and that check in was quick and hassle free. Your catalog of our rooms amenities and features was quite complete. Thank you very much for mentioning your concerns about the internet and lighting. Feedback from valued guests, like you, allow us to target opportunities for improvement. We will address these opportunity area's shortly.

We want everyone's service experience to be better than OK, and assure you, if you visit us again, we will make your stay. If you wish to speak with management further about your experience, we are happy to make time whenever you are available. Thank you again for your thoughtful and complete review. We hope you continue to choose Holiday Inn Express

At Your Service,

Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I chose this location based on reviews and I was dissappointed. I have stayed at several Holiday Inn Express locations and unfortunately this one was the worst. Let me start with the positives, the staff was very friendly, especially the lady who coordinates the breakfast. The breakfast selection was good and my daughter and I especially enjoyed the cookies in the lobby. Upon checking in, I was able to get a better rate than I orginally made the reservation for just by asking. The location near Reliant Park and the restaurants are a huge plus which is why I gave a 3 star rating.

The negatives. The first impression upon walking in was the overwhelming smell of cigarette smoke at the entrance and front desk. I later realized it was the staff who was smoking at the entrance. Ugh!!. Our room was on the first floor and it had a sour smell as soon as we walked in. I turned on the ac and lit our travel candle to take care of the smell. I could have requested another room, but after our long drive, I was too tired. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. I am not picky but it was equivalent to sleeping on the floor. I have stayed at other HI Express, even since this location and had no problems with the beds.

Would I come back? No. For the money, you can do better at several locations within a couple mile radius.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
TxBarb3,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and you have a number of option in the area for lodging and hotels.

We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast, cookies, and staff. We take pride in all three. We are also glad we were able to negotiate a better rate for you.

We apologize about your experience at the hotel entrance, and your experience with the bed being too firm. We recently purchased pillow top mattresses, and they will be available should you choose us again in the future, we have also moved the employee smoking area farther from the entrance. Feedback from valued guests, like you, helps us to target these opportunity area's and we appreciate your candor.

Thank you again for staying, and your review. We hope you continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future lodging needs.

At Your Service,

Walker V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I decided based on the reviews to stay at this Houston location. It seemed close to where I wanted to be and the price affordable. I was quite underwhelmed by the hotel's rundown condition. The lobby seemed clean and modernized but the rooms were not ok. There was an awful smell in my first room. I asked the (very courteous) front desk if I could change rooms. The smell was in the second room too. There was also a very loud rattling air conditioning system that even ear plugs wouldn't have drowned out. I chose to leave and was nicely given a full refund. Kudos on great staff too bad about the smell.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and that you had other options in lodging in the area.

We sincerely apologize for the conditional issue you faced during your brief experience with us. If you wish to speak more about your experience, we would certainly like to hear from you, so we can better target the problem areas and rooms.

We are glad you found our staff to be satisfying, but know we can do better, if you visit again, we promise, that you will find our property much improved, as we are currently planning a refresh and property improvement.

At Your Service,

Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were rather underwhelmed by this hotel. They reviews were so good, that we decided to pay a little more and stay here for one night. We were in Room 109. The room was a little small, but the bathroom was big. The curtains smelled sour, like they had been rained on and not cleaned. Also, there was a high-pitched ringing sound that we couldn't figure out. The telephone man was working outside our window, so maybe that caused it. There are no vending machines, not even for a cold drink, on the first floor. The bed was okay for a one-night stay. The breakfast was good and Amanda, the attendant, was the best. She was the bright spot in a very mediocre stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Populily,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and you had a number of lodging options in the area.

We are glad you found our Breakfast and the hostess to be satisfying. We are proud of both. More importantly, we are distressed that you were disturbed by the high-pitched sound from the outside phone lines. The issue seems to be resolved, and we will call the city should it reoccur. The curtains in the room you sited have been addressed, and we will use your feedback on them, to target the areas for inspection going forward.

We actually do offer Sundry Services, and cold water at the front desk on the ground floor, but given your review, we should do a better job of advertising it's availability. Thank you again for your thorough review, we will use your comments to target those specific opportunity areas, and hope that you choose us again in the future. We are in the process of refreshing the property, and Im quite sure should you visit again, you will find us far above average.

At Your Service,

Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my first time staying in this hotel. I was impressed. It is new and clean throughout. We had a king bed suite. The room was large and comfortable. The hotel would serve as a basis for Medical Center trips or the Reliant Center and sports events nearby. As other reviewers have said there are numerous restaurants nearby and easy shopping choices. I asked for the medical rate and was charged 99.99 for the one night. I didn't try the shuttle, so I can't comment on that service. Nor did we try the breakfast. We did sample the morning coffee and it was very good. A USA today was supplied. There was free internet service (always a plus). For short stays I will try this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Mac6,

Firstly, Thank you for taking the time to review us here. It means a lot to us. We know you have oodles of options in the area, and we are glad you chose our hotel.

We are glad you found the facility to be clean and comfortable. You are correct we do serve primarily Reliant and TMC guests. Our general medical rate is 89 dollars. So either there was an upgrade or we made a mistake. We are happy to provide a refund if the latter is the case.

Our Shuttle and Breakfast are some of our best amenities. If you stay with us again, you should give both a shot, I am sure you will be more than satisfied. Our Drivers and Hostesses are some of our best staff too.

Thank you again for your review. It was thoughtful and consturctive We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is located on Main Street about 3 miles from the Medical Center, next to a Super Target and a CVS Pharmacy and tons of restaurants. We decided to give it a try this time since it includes free breakfast and free parking and we did not need a kitchen on this trip. The staff is excellent. The guys at the front desk really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. We requested an upgrade since we are platinum ambassador members and were granted one. The room is standard hotel room size but it included a microwave, wet bar and small refrigerator. It also included a large size whirpool. Very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding compared to other Holiday Inn Express properties we have stayed at, and the girls who work in the breakfast room are most helpful. They constantly go in and out of the breakfast room replenishing items and walk around the tables asking everybody if they need anything and offering help. First HI Express we see this service at breakfast. Also, we had ordered some packages to be delivered at the hotel by UPS and UPS made the mistake of dropping one of them at another HI property on Main Street. The front desk staff were jumping up the loops calling other HI properties around the area until they located it. They sent a driver to pick it up and gave it to us. Really good service. Overall, great value, staff and location. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Muchachona,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. As usual your reviews are thoughtful, thorough and kind. We know your time is valuable, and you have a number of options in the area. We are honored that we were chosen to host you on your visit.

We could not be more pleased that you enjoyed our staff and amenities. It is always nice to receive acknowledgement, and we will pass your comments on to staff, to boost morale, and show them progress is being made on our goal of providing the best, most sincere service in the Texas Medical Center.

Thank you again for your review here, and on our main site. Your words mean a lot to us, and are particularly cogent and well written. We are extremely grateful for your internet word-of-mouth, and hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

At Your Service,

Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center

Address: 8080 S Main Street, Houston, TX 77025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome! We would like to invite you to come and experience a stay at the Holiday Inn Express Medical Center. Whether you re coming in for business or pleasure, see how we can make your stay a personal and unique one. We are conveniently located near the Texas Medical Center, Rice University, the Museum District, and Reliant Park. Just minutes away from Houston s world renowned MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children s, & St. Luke's hospitals, our hotel may be just what you need for your home away from home. For all you sports fans out there, we have just the thing for you too. Come and enjoy Houston s very own Texans, or see your favorite college or soccer teams battle it out on the field. The Reliant Stadium is also located nearby. Shuttle service is available to the Medical Center area and Reliant Stadium. Taxis are available for all other locations. Relax in our elegant yet modern rooms with amenities such as a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. High-speed Internet access, both wireless and wired, along with a variety of movie channels are also provided free of charge. Enjoy a deluxe, complimentary breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, Smart Roast coffee and choices of hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston Medical Center
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Houston
Holiday Inn Express Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.