We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8730 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Houston - Hobby Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I expect more from a Holiday Inn. The service was missing. The staff seemed to be more interested in their own agenda, than representing their establishment in a positive light. It was in a hard to reach location. If you missed the off ramp, you were in serious trouble. I will avoid this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. It is disappointing to hear our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regrettable you were not satisfied with our customer service. Please know that we take guest satisfaction very seriously and thrive on exceeding our guest expectations. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    17
    14
    12
See reviews for
10
9
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I chose to stay at this hotel based on our stays at other hiexpress locations and its proximity to area attractions we planned to visit as we celebrated our 46th anniversary. I reserved at King Suite for the weekend. When we arrived and went up to the suite, we were not impressed for two reasons: 1) it was smaller than those at other locations, and 2) it was hot. I called the reception desk and asked to change to another room. Reona immediately located a larger room on the same floor and we relocated. The a/c was not on so the room was hot. I turned the a/c on to cool the room. After 15-20 minutes, it was evident the a/c wasn't working. I called Reona and she sent maintenance to check it out. After replacing the a/c with a new one, the rest of the weekend was great. Cudos to Reona, maintenance and breakfast hostess (Saturday morning). Everyone was friendly and went out of their way to accommodate. Thanks again for your service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and I will advise Reona and Patricia on a job well done in delivering excellent customer service that exceeding your guest satisfaction. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
171 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Checked in here after a flight cancellation. Hotel is located along a highway access road. There is another hotel next door (a Four Points). Beyond that a no-tell motel, an abandoned car dealership, and a barbecue restaurant. Would not feel comfortable going outside after dark.

Front desk staff was friendly during check in. The Priority Club platinum gift included a small bottle of water, bag of mini cookies, and cheese crackers. There was a "managers reception" in the lobby (see photo). It included chips, salsa, and tortilla roll ups. Canned beer, soda, and wine.

My room is an accessible room -- which is surprising. I don't know if the hotel was sold out but, if not, why would you put a Platinum PC club member in this room? You could hold a bar-mitzvah in this room it is so wide- open. Doesn't at all feel comfortable or like home but rather like a small warehouse with some furniture. The shower is made to allow wheel chairs to "roll in" with an adjustable shower head on the wall. Not at all comfortable or easy to use.

Was very disappointed with the stay. Will not return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Mike W,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club member and we appreciate you sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. I'm delighted our front desk staff assisted you well and provided you our Priority Club gift as well as our managers reception treats. It is disappointing to hear our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regrettable you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Nothing much to complain about, nothing much to shout about. I choose the location due to the proximity to my clients plant. It is right on the gulf (I45) freeway. Due to the near freeway, to room noise was quite loud. Plus its Houston, so the AC has to run all the time. I would suggest a room on the southeast side away from the freeway. Otherwise bring some comfortable ear plugs if road noise bothers you.

The property is in good condition. Room furnishings is several years old, but in good shape. The TV’s have been upgraded to flat screens. My king suite had microwave and a refrigerator.

They host a reception in the lobby from 5:00 to 6:30pm. They offer soda, wine and beer along with chips and a hot snack (think pizza rolls). That is a nice touch. They always seem to run a bit late, yesterday the drinks were put out after 5:30pm. And breakfast is routinely late all week, except for the morning the cook didn’t show up at all. I was impressed they had to go bags for those looking for breakfast on the day the cook was missing.

There are some restaurant nearby but its reported that the neighborhood is not the best. A car is required for this location.

Room Tip: On the south east away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Kazoo_Bruce,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We appreciated the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

The front desk staff were great! I love the indoor pool and hot tub. The carpet in the halls smell funny and should be replaced, but the staff made my experience a pleasant stay while I was away on business.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This was our worst stay at holiday inn express. 1) Anything we requested was ignored and almost snubbed as if a joke. 2)Cold breakfast 3) We had food and the refrigerator did not work. 4) Air conditioner did not work 5) We asked to change rooms and the other one stunk so we sayed where we were at. 6) Its december and asked for packets of hot chocolate for 3 days. It would have been ok if they were honest and said they would not have any but the promised each day. 7) This hotel is not up to holiday inn express standards. 8) no ice on 2nd floor 9) I THINK THE TV WAS FROM THE 80 S

They should be ashamed

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit D, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Valued Guest:

We are surprised by the comments and hope you do not have us confused with another property. To help address your concerns, I have listed out responses.

1. All requests are logged daily and handled by management. We have never received feedback regarding any concerns to this extent from any guest during the week in question.

2. Holiday Inn Express hotels have leading industry quality breakfasts as is evidenced at this property. We adhere to all standards required for the guest's satisfaction.

3. In trying to find your stay at our property, I was unsuccessful. For future reference, if an AC is an issue, our Chief Engineer visits the guest personally. During the winter season, it is even more effective due to the climate.

4. Our property houses 37'' LCD HD televisions in all guest rooms.

We hope these responses give you a clear indication of our care and efforts speaking for the Holiday Inn family of brands.

Regards,

The Holiday Inn Express Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Hotel staff is excellent Managers reception is great and complimentary my husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this location Amy ,Daniel and Teri are great they were always makig sure we had everyhting we needed during our stay we will deffinetly be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit D, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hello:

We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary Manager's Reception with free beer, wine, and appetizers. You also remembered the names of our entire staff! So kind of you!

Please do visit us again.

Regards,

The Holiday Inn Express Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport

Address: 8730 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Houston - Hobby Airport)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Houston hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travelers, as we are situated near numerous Texas attractions and just minutes from major metro areas. Leisure travelers appreciate our Houston hotel's convenient location near Hobby Airport. Families and friends will be glad that our Houston hotel is within a short drive to Minute Maid Park, Toyota Center, Reliant Park and NASA Space Center. For great shopping, the Galleria Mall is the place to go in Houston. Our staff of Tourism Ambassadors are ready to show you the best of Houston. Our hotel's amenities include 24-hour shuttle service, hot deluxe breakfast, meeting facilities, and free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston - Hobby Airport Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.