We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Courtyard Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Houston-West University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Houston-West University to your Saves list
Courtyard Houston-West University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2929 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #240 of 468 Hotels in Houston
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best Courtyard Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

This Courtyard By Marriott was one of the nicest I have stayed in. The staff was attentive and friendly, the breakfast buffet was hot, fresh and reasonably priced. The rooms and public areas were clean and tastfully decorated.

There were two small problems but they didn't put a damper on our stay. The first was that, as others have said, the hotel is poorly marked from the road and a little difficult to spot at first. The second was that the water pressure in the toilets was not always full-power and made it sometimes difficult to flush.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
13
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

We were very pleased with the 3 nights we spent at the Courtyard Marriott, West University in January 2006. The room was large, clean and comfortable-- the bed was great and the shower had excellent water pressure. Guest rooms have a large desk with free highspeed internet and there are two free PCs with internet access in the business center. Ample free parking. Our rate included a full breakfast with all the usual eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, cereals, pastries, fruit, juices, coffee, tea etc. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

The hotel does not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner and the bar is only open Mon-Thur but there are plenty of options close by.

The location is convenient for anything in West University and downtown Houston. The location, however, could hardly be called attractive. It's kind of industrial looking and surrounded by warehouses, electricity pylons and a highway. You definitely need a car to get anywhere.

We paid about $100 per night including tax, service and breakfast. You would pay double this amount for a similar place in Boston.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

What a great value for the price! Great location - right off route 59 and nearby route 45. Only 10 minute drive to downtown area. Rooms were very clean and spacious...looked like they had been recently renovated. Bathrooms were huge - marble countertops, very clean showers, always plenty of fresh towels. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We are rather picky travelers and we enjoyed ourselves here.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2004

Rooms were nicer than the Marriotts I've stayed in this year. Employees were pleasant, well-trained, and helpful.

If you are looking for a clean, tastefully decorated, well-maintained hotel room and do not need a full-service hotel (concierge, etc.), then this is a great choice.

Amazing for the price! Can't recommend highly enough.

After several years of visiting a son at Rice University, I finally found the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Houston-West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston-West University

Address: 2929 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston-West University 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Houston-West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Houston-West University Hotel Houston
Houston Courtyard
Houston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Houston-West University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.