We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard - Non Smoking Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Houston-West University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Houston-West University to your Saves list
Courtyard Houston-West University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2929 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #206 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Courtyard - Non Smoking Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Won this hotel bidding on Priceline. Regular rate was $99. Got it for $46 plus tax. Fast, friendly check in. Nice lobby with bistro/bar & pool area. Rooms were bright & very clean & quite. Comfortable beds. Easy access to Freeway & lots of places to eat in the area.
Smoking allowed outside.

Room Tip: Good place for a quick weekend getaway with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
13
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice clean room. The front desk staff was very pleasant. It has a nice pool area...just wish we could have used it. The location was good for us and easy to find.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here one night before an early appointment in the med center. Very convenient! The staff was beyond friendly and professional! I was impressed. I was not expecting much as the pics of the hotel are drab and frankly a little off-putting. The property was nice, landscaped well and very clean! The room was also very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Linens were good quality- no pills or slubs and pillows were fluffy yet supportive. I would stay here again anytime. Good Mexican restaurant- Guadalajara's- right across the street! Within walking distance. Well the back entrance is there but not marked well. It looks like you are entering a parking area for a business office but you can see the restaurant and the parking areas are combined. All in all we had a much more pleasant stay than I had expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I normally stay at the JW Marriott when in town, but due to the OTC conference, rates in Houston were exhorbitant. Even the Courtyard was over $300/night. Once I got past the shock, I chose this hotel as it was the best value available. I am so glad I did. I may seriously consider using this hotel instead of the more upscale Marriotts in the future.

Summary: The staff are absolutely amazing and make this hotel what it is. They made my morning, afternoon, and evening. Every person I encountered was extremely friendly -- not annoying friendly, but genuinely friendly. They offered a sincere "hope you have a great day" nearly every time I saw them in addition to other things.

But the hotel's great features don't stop there. The lobby is extremely modern and comfortable - better than any Courtyard I have been in. The restaurant area is more of a coffee bar style (walk up to order, then have a seat), but has cook to order food also. I only ate breakfast there, but it had a nice selection of offerings.
-- More on the staff. They do serve Starbuck's coffee there, but they do not have the standard Starbuck's machine. One patron was adamant about how he wanted his coffee (and was honestly quite rude). The person helping him explained that the machine can not make "extra hot", but she was detemined to find a solution. She really wanted to make him happy. While I don't think this customer could ever be made happy, but she did everything in her power to help him (and remained very professional and friendly despite him yelling at her -- simply amazing).

The room was very comfortable. WiFi was good and free. The noise level was not noticeable at all. Slept like a baby.

While others have mentioned the location is not attractive (nothing great to look at), it really is convenient to a lot of things. And for that customer that wants speaks only Starbuck's -- there is one within walking distance. Please go there next time.

Room Tip: I had a 2nd floor room right next to the stairs. It was extremely quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We recently stayed here as a mother/daughter pair for a volleyball tournament. The location of the Hotel was somewhat a surprise but then again this is Houston with very little zoning laws. Hotel is close to Rice University & its super easy to hop on 59 to get downtown. The actual 1/2 mile around the hotel is questionable but after that there are several quaint areas & plenty eating areas as you head down the Kirby cross street. In fact follow Kirby down to Main street & you can find just about anything you need within that 2 mile stretch.

The hotel staff were very professional & went above & beyond in all situations. Room was large, clean with comfortable beds, lots of pillows , good tv & large desk! Front desk folks were personable & very friendly & helpful. The lady running the eating area downstairs made me the most awesome strawberry banana smoothie at 830 at night. Very friendly folks!

With a teenage girl, having a separate sink/mirror from the actual potty/shower was a huge bonus. The beds were wonderful & very comfortable. Nice mirrored closet area was also helpful with a teenage girl in tow.

No problems with check in & checkout.

Room Tip: Corner suite had a little extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights on a business trip. I had stayed here previously when my son attended college in Houston.

This Courtyard was given the new makeover that all Courtyards are getting now. The facility looks so new and modern. The lobby area is pristine, with a large seating area for just hanging out as well as a large separate seating area for the new restaurant, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I did not eat here, but I noticed the prices were reasonable and at other Courtyards at which I've eaten, I have liked the food.

This place is conveniently located right off of Route 59. It is an easy drive from either Bush Intercontinental or Hobby Airport, although Bush is a little further away.

Starbucks is a short walk from the hotel and Goode Company Barbecue, one of the best bbq places in the country!, is a five minute car ride away. There are also numerous other restaurants nearby.

This Courtyard is also very close to Rice University and if you are planning on ever visiting Rice as a potential school for you or your children, I highly recommend staying here.

The rooms are clean and neat. The bed was very comfortable. My only disappointment with the room is that there are no HD channels available even though the rooms have large screen HD channels.

I stayed in Room 117, on the first floor, using my Marriott Points. So this was a free stay for me. And maybe that's why they gave me this room. I would avoid this room at all costs. It is directly behind the restaurant, and right next to an exit door that the employees use. So the noise from the restaurant starts at abut 6;00 AM and doesn't stop until about 11:00 PM. Granted I was out of the room most of the day, but the noise was quite bothersome from 6:00 AM until I left and again from the time I got back to my hotel and the restaurant closed.

So my advice: Stay here, but avoid Room 117!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed here for one night in late March. The hotel is situated off the beaten track - a few blocks off Kirby Drive. However, it's in verty good shape and the lobby has recently been upgraded away from the traditional breakfast buffet set-up to the new set-up with walk-up service for breakfast and other meals. Room was fine and in good shape. Staff were very friendly and out-going.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Houston-West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston-West University

Address: 2929 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston-West University 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Houston-West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Houston-West University Hotel Houston
Houston Courtyard
Houston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Houston-West University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.