We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Houston West University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Houston West University to your Saves list
Residence Inn Houston West University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2939 Westpark Drive, Houston, TX 77005 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #127 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
College Station TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Won't stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I was enticed by the price...$105 for a weekend night. But this was no typical Residence/Marriott. Old, stale decor...confused front desk...dark parking lots...noisy elevators. There is no drive-up entrance so you may have to park far from the lobby to check in. Walked into my guest room and got slapped by floral taxi cab air-freshner stench. Overwhelmingly strong...I finally located the air freshner...it was hanging on the INSIDE of the air handling vent. Had to unscrew the vent cover and get it out. Old stained carpets, loose floorboards in the kitchenette. All in all a disappointing stay for a Marriott. Wish I had tried elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
13
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

First off, the Residence Inn model is wonderful for families. The two-bedroom suite with kitchen was great for our family of four, and the breakfast buffet very convenient. (My kids loved the make-your-own waffle station.) The location is close to the medical center and Rice University/ Rice Village, and reasonably convenient to the Galleria. We generally stay here when we have several scattered friends/ family members to visit, as it offers easy access to the major highways.

However, like other RI properties, the place appears to have a cleanliness problem. We found a few month's worth of dust in the corner of the living room, a half-eaten M&M on the carpet, and a half-cleaned up spill in one corner of the kitchen. There was also a loose floorboard in the kitchen. The front desk was apologetic when we checked out, but we weren't offered anything besides. We'd stay here again just for the location, but maybe bring a dust buster with us.

Room Tip: We heard some noise from the adjacent apartment complex on Friday/ Saturday nights. I'd recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were in Houston for my GF to qualify as a Running Instructor when we stayed here.

First morning we were kicked out when all the fire alarms went off and weren't allowed back in until the Fire crews said so.
This is a great Residence in in a superb location to access Houston.
The staff treated us like royalty and we truly felt welcomed here. The suite was just that little bit more comfortable than many we'd stayed in. Everything was really "just right".
When I go to Houston again, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while in town for a wedding. We had not stayed in a Residence Inn previously and were favorably impressed. The desk clerk was friendly and very helpful upon check-in. The room was spacious and very clean. A very comfortable bed. Quiet even though nearly full the nights we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm posting this a little late (better late than never)...I stayed here in the middle of my relocation to Houston, in between a bunch of other stays - mainly due to proximity to the Galleria and areas I was home-searching. I checked in very late and the process was seamless. My room was large - an end unit. Large room / large bathroom. I liked that I could walk across the street to a Mexican restaurant for a nightcap. In the morning, I did notice the breakfast area was on the smaller side, but I found a spot and the breakfast buffet was good. Maybe adding some spots for singles (like a breakfast bar) would help here. For access to the West U / Rice Village & Galleria areas, this location can't be beat. Decent value, too. Good wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi,texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel was perfect. It's less than 2 miles from the Museum District, so everything we wanted to see was close by. The hotel is very clean and quiet, it's set back away from the freeway, so you don't hear any road noise. We stayed for two days, and the young lady at the front desk always greeted us upon leaving or returning. Instead of the standard "hello", we were greeted with "hey, welcome back!" or "how was your trip to the museum?" Very personalized! The hotel has a nice little bistro that has a Starbucks inside. We took advantage of the 24 hr convenience store located at the front desk. It was nice to be able to go downstairs and have access food and drink at al hours. I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Houston

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Barring this hotel being pretty hard to find (though it is pretty much off the freeway), it was a good nights stay. The parking is kind of kooky; and the fact that there is a Courtyard Marriott practically attached to it is a little confusing.
There was a mix-up at the front desk at checkin, but by checkout it was resolved, and the front desk staff was personable and friendly.
The room was "residence inn" standard; and the beds were comfy and inviting.

We shopped at a Whole Foods market not too many blocks away, in a very "trendy" upscale block of shops/restaurants..etc; there is also a grocery store a few blocks away.

Very filling breakfast.

Unfortunately, I didn't have time for the pool (if there is one.)

If by chance you get lost (as we did on a very wet, rainy June evening), you can drive up and down some beautiful stately homes and tree-shaded avenues near the University. Each home is very well kept and architecturally different.

And we were surprised to see just before the turnoff on the major freeway...there was Joel Osteen's mega church Lakewood Church...right off the freeway. And it did look mega!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Houston West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston West University

Address: 2939 Westpark Drive, Houston, TX 77005
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston West University 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Houston West University. The hotel allows quick access to the world renowned Texas Medical Center, home to MD Anderson Cancer Center, where we offer complimentary shuttle service daily. The hotel is centrally located in the Greenway Plaza - West University area, minutes away from Lakewood Church, Reliant Park, Galleria, world class Museum district, Downtown Houston, Rice University and a variety of upscale restaurants and nightlife. On-site amenities include complimentary hot breakfast daily, Social Hour, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, library with books, Sportscourt and complimentary high speed internet access in all suites. The hotel is conveniently located 1 mile from the Metro light rail. You can count on Residence Inn by Marriott West University to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Houston West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston West University Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Houston West University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.