We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Houston West University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Houston West University to your Saves list
Residence Inn Houston West University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2939 Westpark Drive, Houston, TX 77005 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #99 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Feel like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel is in a very good shape and reasonable location. Location is not a problem since they provide hourly shuttle service to places around the area. Kitchen is ok. Great breakfast. Nice and helpful staff. Well equipped fittness center. One thing to complaint about is the pool is too small for regular swim, tho it is still good for fun. It is of a distance to the medical center and therefore there is more regular clients and less of patients.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
12
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was our home during a five-day stay for my son's college graduation. The hotel is great- nice rooms, great breakfast, great location, nice courtyard with pool and patio chairs. The rooms were ideal with the kitchen facilities. I was able to store food for graduation festivities with ease. The pool courtyard provide a nice get away when we needed a little recharging time. The breakfast area was filled with other families in town for graduation. It was fun, but I felt sorry for anything staying there not involved in the activities. There were stores and restaurants close by too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

In comparison to other Residence Inns, the kitchenette could do a bit of updating in regards to appliances and decor. Common areas are clean and uptodate. Staff is attentive and friendly. The included breakfast is standard for RI. I appreciated the free WSJ.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Residence Inn Houston West University is an excellent hotel. The hotel is conveniently located to MD Anderson. There is a shuttle which will take guests back and forth to the hospital. The drivers are all very courteous and patient. The staff are all very friendly and compassionate. We have been staying on and off here for over a year and a half, and do not have one complaint. The front desk staff all recognize us and actually come out from behind the desk to hug us. They really make us feel as if we are at home. They serve breakfast in the morning, and a light dinner 5 nights a week. There is a Starbucks within walking distance, and a Kroger within 2 blocks. Even though this is not a 5 star hotel, I would choose this over one because of the friendly staff and it's location. The shuttle will also take you to Rice Village, and the Galleria Mall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Residence Inn is an excellent choice for long term stays if you are needing to visit the Medical Center or work at Greenway Plaza. The location is convenient even though the proximity to more industrial surroundings are a little uncomfortable. The rooms are comfortable and have all of the amenities needed for extended stays. The staff is very warm and welcoming and eager to please. The breakfast is not extremely diverse with food but is filling. The evening foods are a good substitute for quick snacks either for dinner or before dinner. The proximity to the Marriott Courtyard also gives you the opportunity to take advantage of their restaurants. There are a number of good restaurants in the area along with most other support services - grocery stores, dry cleaners, etc.

Room Tip: Interior rooms off the pool area are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL Keys
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Despite the unhappy reviews of others, we had and excellent experience and we were satisfied in all respects. If the recent reviews are true, we got the best two bedroom in the house. With two baths, a kitchen and living room, and easy access to the city, we had no complaints, but to the contrary, only compliments. If I had read the recent reviews, I would not have chosen to stay - luckily I hadn't read them until I started this review. Bad karma for some, but not me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

First, I am a Marriott Platinum member, so I've stayed at a few Marriotts in my time. This Residence Inn (RI) is one of the newer "Type 2" hotels with inside entrances and all one building. But for being a newer model, it is severely in need of an upgrade. Carpet is worn and dirty, appliances a a bit dated and show their age. They could spruce things up with some elbow grease and a scrub brush. Example: Walking into breakfast the other morning from the room, the hallway to the short outside walkway was dirty and the pigeon poop in the walkway was still there from my previous stay. Elevators need a vacuuming. Parking lots need a trash pickup. The breakfast is RI standard. Kudos for the free local paper and Wall Street Journal. Very hard to land discounts as with all Houston hotels, but they do have a medical/patient rate. Fairly good soundproofing between the rooms. Just seems like the owners are skimping on updates and housekeeping staff to keep expenses down. Much nicer neighborhood than the South Main Street RI and Courtyard, though the hotel is on a semi-industrial street. Nice Kroger's 1/4 mile away and lots of shops, Whole Foods, restaurants in the close-by area.

Room Tip: Avoid courtyard-facing rooms to avoid sports court and pool noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Houston West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston West University

Address: 2939 Westpark Drive, Houston, TX 77005
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston West University 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Houston West University. The hotel allows quick access to the world renowned Texas Medical Center, home to MD Anderson Cancer Center, where we offer complimentary shuttle service daily. The hotel is centrally located in the Greenway Plaza - West University area, minutes away from Lakewood Church, Reliant Park, Galleria, world class Museum district, Downtown Houston, Rice University and a variety of upscale restaurants and nightlife. On-site amenities include complimentary hot breakfast daily, Social Hour, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, library with books, Sportscourt and complimentary high speed internet access in all suites. The hotel is conveniently located 1 mile from the Metro light rail. You can count on Residence Inn by Marriott West University to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Houston West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston West University Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Houston West University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.