We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residence Inn West University” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Houston West University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Houston West University to your Saves list
Residence Inn Houston West University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2939 Westpark Drive, Houston, TX 77005 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #118 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Residence Inn West University”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have shopped and stayed at most of the Residence Inn's in and around Houston. This West Univ location is by far the best, newest, and has the closest set of amenities. It has quick access to Kirby Lane and Highway 59. Its close to Reliant Stadium, 10 mins from downtown, next to Starbucks, Crave Cupcake, Chipolte, 24hr Fitness, Whole Foods Market and a number of Goode Company Restaurants including the Bar B Que which is ok but not great. If you drive down Kirby Lane south you will find a Kroger with the Cheapest Gas anywhere downtown. The only other nicer and newer Residence Inn is down in Clear Lake. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for the IBM or Shell Rates, all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    29
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
12
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were between the sale of a home and move-in of a new one. We needed a place to stay for anywhere from 4 to 6 weeks, one that would permit a pet and have cooking facilities in-room. After considerable searching, we chose to stay at the Marriott Residence Inn on Westpark Drive in Houston. It was an excellent choice. The room had a thoughtfully equipped kitchen (full fridge w/ice maker, adequate stove top, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker, full cooking/kitchen utensils and dining dishes/utensils, glassware, kitchen linens, napkins, paper towels, etc). There was a kitchen bar area for eating. The living area had a working desk, TV, couch and stuffed chair. The king size bed was VERY comfortable. The generous number of pillows and bed linens wonderful! The bath room was efficient and bath linens very nice and generous. We had a clothes closet as well as another "storage/coat" closet near the front door. The front desk and ALL staff were courteous, accommodating, friendly and helpful. Our refrigerator died during our stay and they immediately - on a Sunday evening - (within 15 minutes!) - brought in a replacement fridge, transferred our food and frozen items and wheeled the ailing fridge out in record time. I could not believe it.
We were able to conveniently park within steps of the entry. The halls, common areas and laundry area were immaculately clean. They had a wonderful buffet breakfast every morning (great eggs, bacon, oatmeal, etc.) that my husband took full advantage of. There also were "happy hours" each week day evening with generous finger food that one could use as a supper if needed. Pets were thoughtfully provided for with a dedicated pet walking area. We felt safe in walking around the property. It is very conveniently located to Houston highways, med center, downtown and the galleria. There are good restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance. This was an excellent, excellent choice for us and is an exceedingly well run Inn. The highest compliments to the management and all staff are well deserved! Thank you!

Room Tip: Note: Our room was not a "suite" per se. It was a modified "L" shaped room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was mediocre. The location was nice; however, we did not have breakfast because they were remodeling and there was dust everywhere. There is a basketball court in the center, so if someone wakes up before you and wants to play, you will be awakened by a bouncing ball. The pool is in the middle, so everyone has a birdseye view of you. I loved the space in the room and the stove.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were in Houston to visit MD Anderson and wanted a place to stay that would be more like an apartment. We were pleased with the accommodations. We had a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen, and a living room with a pull out couch that was surprisingly comfortable. The bed in the bedroom caused some back pain to my brother-in-law. The kitchen surprised us the most, as it had a full size refridgerator/freezer and a dishwasher. It also had a small two burner cooktop. It was only 6 minutes from the hospital and does provide a shuttle (although the shuttle did not start until 7am, and our appt was before that). They provided a full breakfast. They were in the middle of a renovation, but tried their best to keep the inconvience to guests to the minimum.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I travel to Houston monthly for business and this place is great! Very friendly staff and great customer service. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have stayed at this Residence Inn three times in the last two years, while visiting Rice University and family in Houston; the first visit on September 2010, the latest visit in May 2012. The rooms are clean and comfortable, as well as the bathroom and kitchen area of the one bedroom suite. We've stayed in first floor rooms near the side entrance to the hotel, near the patio area, which is very convenient for parking. The hotel is located within driving distance to a Kroger supermarket and other shops. During our first visit in 2010 we stayed in a pet friendly room with a cat. That room was also very clean and no evidence or smells of prior furry guests. The housekeeping staff were wonderful in locating our pet's favorite blanket which we inadvertently left behind. The breakfast area is very clean and the food items are more than adequate, a nice selection of cold and hot breakfast foods. We have felt safe when staying in this Residence Inn, the parking area is well lighted. The air conditioning in all the rooms we've stayed in have worked well- a plus in the warm, humid weather during Houston's summer months.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the side entrance to the hotel, they are very accessible to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Hi, been here a week. Am booked in for 6 weeks. Price after 30 days is $89/day including very nice breakfast (fruit, yoghurt, cereal, oatmeal, toast, waffle, sausage, bacon, muffins etc)(*7) and dinners (incl wine/beer)(*5). After 45 days it is $69/day. I have a studio, very spacious and well fitted out. Only problem has been air conditioning by bed blasts out cold air at 3am -- i am still in jet lag mode so it wakes me up. Setting temp to 80 is too hot, 76 seems to work OK. Staff friendly and helpful. Fantastic extra - hotel has free shuttle that will take you anywhere within 3 miles and pick you up when you call, up til 9pm weekdays (4:30 pm weekends). Don't forget to tip the driver.

Room Tip: No advice. I am on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Houston West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston West University

Address: 2939 Westpark Drive, Houston, TX 77005
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston West University 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Houston West University. The hotel allows quick access to the world renowned Texas Medical Center, home to MD Anderson Cancer Center, where we offer complimentary shuttle service daily. The hotel is centrally located in the Greenway Plaza - West University area, minutes away from Lakewood Church, Reliant Park, Galleria, world class Museum district, Downtown Houston, Rice University and a variety of upscale restaurants and nightlife. On-site amenities include complimentary hot breakfast daily, Social Hour, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, library with books, Sportscourt and complimentary high speed internet access in all suites. The hotel is conveniently located 1 mile from the Metro light rail. You can count on Residence Inn by Marriott West University to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Houston West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston West University Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Houston West University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.