We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My choice of hotel when visiting for an Astros game.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Houston Downtown to your Saves list
The Westin Houston Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1520 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #96 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sulphur, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“My choice of hotel when visiting for an Astros game.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My daughter and I checked in on Friday, May 1st. The hotel was easy to find, the valet attendants were kind and patient (it took us a while to get everything together), and check in was a breeze. Everyone was pleasant and friendly and made us feel very welcome.
Our room was upgraded to a junior suite and we couldn't have been happier. I have no complaints about anything in the room or the hotel itself. It was clean, spacious, and had everything we needed. My daughter forgot her toothbrush but the front desk gave her one along with toothpaste at no charge. Saved me from walking 5 blocks to the nearest drug store. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The AC worked extremely well. We had free wi-fi because we are Starwood Preferred Guests (SPG). I believe it is available for a fee in other rooms, although free wi-fi is available in the lobby.
There is ongoing construction at properties around the hotel and they even provided earplugs so the noise wouldn't bother us (which it didn't at all).
After the game last night we ordered room service. Our call was answered right away, we ordered a turkey burger with fries and a club sandwich with chips. We were told it would be 25-35 minutes but received our food in about 20. The gentleman who delivered the food was very polite and friendly, informing us he'd be there all night in case we wanted to call and order dessert later on. The food was plentiful. I could only eat half of the club sandwich and couldn't finish the chips. My daughter couldn't quit raving about the fries and her burger. While it wasn't inexpensive, it wasn't an unreasonable amount either.
While checking out today (May 2nd), the gentleman at the desk, Rudy, wanted to make sure our stay was everything we had hoped it would be. I told him it most certainly was and he told me if it wasn't to let him know and he would make it right.
Rudy and everyone else at this hotel were so much more than we were expecting. We are actually planning another trip to Houston just so we can go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    48
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
31
10
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was below average, their engagement was not genuine. They were monotone in their interactions and were not engaging. The bell staff and the front desk were the most disappointing. It was obvious we were there for a celebration but not one employee asked us why we were visiting Houston. The bell Ryan who took our luggage up never once smiled or interacted with us. Also do not plan on bringing coolers, they don't allow them in the hotel because they might leak onto the floors but they will allow pets, this makes no sense. For a four diamond hotel my stay was very disappointing. If you are use to a true 4 diamond experience like at the Omni or JW no doubt you will be disappointed in this Westin.

Pros were that the bed was amazing and it was close to the ballpark.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Matt B,

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown. It deeply troubles me that you had a negative experience with our Front Office Team as this is not our standard of service. Can you please reach out to me so we can discuss further? Once again, thank you for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown.

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I purchased two rooms at this hotel for a girls night 40th birthday celebration. I did receive a great price through a 3rd party vendor. It was described as boutique hotel.

Pros:
• Ceiling Fan
• Very clean appointed rooms
• Quiet from church bells (I saw several reviews about the church. I had an interior room facing the inside of the hotel and did not hear church bells on Saturday morning)

Cons:
• Location - although this is very close to the stadium which does make it a high point, its also close to the stadium. This means that the safety level of the streets goes down a few notches. At dark, I wouldn't walk the streets as easily as I would on the Theatre district side of downtown.
• I can imagine during games, you will hear a lot of in and out of guests if you are not there fore a game. So we heard several doors slam often.

Pros/Cons Staff:
• Front desk staff leaves less to be desired. I called Monday prior to the Friday of our stay with notes about our celebratory birthday/girls night out. Asked if we could get two rooms side by side, preferably connecting. Also asked about floors that do not allow animals.
Pros ---- Our needs were met for Allergies
Cons ---- Our party was split in two. We had another room between our two reserved rooms.
P ---- They did try to attempt to locate a placement to get our rooms together.
C ---- Front desk didn't even offer a happy birthday to the birthday girl. We felt more like we were renewing our driver's license than a few moms without kids being out on our own for the first time in a long time. Couldn't get our keys fast enough and way from the gloom.

Parking: Valet $28.15.
Wifi - Paid for $10
Beds: Were great
Bathrooms: Large and clean

Shuttle Service: Matt
He gave the birthday girl a happy birthday and engaged conversation with excitement that we were actually there. Shuttle service was nice to take advantage off.

Room Tip: 5th Floor for those that don't do pet allergens, Valet only and will cast $28.15. The Shuttle se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear HLGibson,

Thank you so much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown. I appreciate you taking the time to provide valuable feedback. I have presented your review to the members of our management team and will address. Please feel free to reach out to me if I may assist you personally. Once again, thank you for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the downtown Westin to take our boys to an Astros game on a Friday night. It was a brilliant idea. The hotel is within a block of the stadium.

Check in was quick and painless. The front desk was also very nice and helpful with information. They even had a wagon full of toys for the kids to pick a toy to keep. The kids played with their trucks all weekend.

The room was very clean and nice. Loved the dark stone in the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable. The room also had a mini fridge.

We dropped of the car with the hotel valet and walked to the game. We didn't get the car back out until it was time to go home. The hotel is also within walking distance of Discovery Green. We walked over there for breakfast and let the kids play all morning.

We will be staying here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ParkerLane10,

Thank you so much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience as a guest in our hotel! Please feel free to reach out to me personally if you need any further assistance! Once again, thank you for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked into the hotel with ease, valet parking quick and efficient. Speedy service with the luggage to the room. Sarah at the front desk for check in was very firendly and helpful during our stay. We utlized the shuttle which takes you to local places in downtown Houston. The service bot going and coming was very quick. The driver very friendly and prompt. Right next door is Vic Anthony's Steakhouse which has great service and a menu.

Room Tip: We opted for an upgrade for a junior suite which was very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Andy426669,

Thank you so much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience with the hotel. I will also extend my sincere thanks to Sarah for assisting you during your check in. Please feel free to reach out to me if I may assist you further. Once again, thank you for your review and being our guest at The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have long term business travel in Houston and as is common in my profession, i like to stay at the same hotel every week, almost always an SPG hotel, where I leave a suitcase with my own pillow, some workout gear, and toiletries.

I have been staying at the WESTIN downtown for several weeks 4 nights per week with no issue. This week I had to leave after two nights. This morning I was informed by a snooty front desk clerk that they will no longer store bags due to "we changed our policy ". No amount of explaining I'm SPG Platinum & I typically spend over $1000 a week there would move her off of "you will have to take it with you". I'll now be paying bag fees as I drag a large suitcase around the country this week.

Deal breaker for me. There are plenty of other hotels who will happily store my bag.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear RRRRTexas,

Thank your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! I am glad that we were able to accommodate storing your luggage. If there is anything else I may assist you with personally, please feel free to reach out to me.

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself was very nice, but a little pricey - I only stayed one night. It was close to where I was going downtown and the University. Ceiling fan in the bed room and big bathroom with lots of light was a plus. I appreciate them accomodating my need for an early check-in.

Room Tip: Had a room on the south side of the building away from elevators/vending. It was quite, although, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear KJW500,

Thank you so much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown. I am very glad to hear that we were able to extend an early check in for you. Should you need any further assistance please feel free to reach out to me directly. Once again, thank you for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Houston Downtown

Address: 1520 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#76 Family Hotel in Houston
#99 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Houston Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Houston Downtown,formerly Inn at the Ballpark, is conveniently located near many of Houston's attractions including George R. Brown Convention Center, Discovery Green (one of Houston's most visited parks), and for fans of the arts, The Hobby Center for the Performing Arts and the Houston Symphony. Treat yourself to a baseball game at Minute Maid Park, a concert at the Toyota Center, or a soccer match at the BBVA Compass Stadium - all located within blocks of our downtown Houston hotel.Our goal is that you leave our Houston Downtown hotel feeling better than when you arrived - stay on top of work in the business center, power up at your pace in our Westin Workout Fitness Studio, or eat well in our award winning restaurant, Vic & Anthony's. Enjoy traditional charm and inspiring views in any of our 200 guest rooms and suites, featuring 14' ceilings and ceiling fans. Work at the modern desk or relax on the leather furniture. Get a blissful night’s rest on your Westin Heavenly Bed®, and refresh with premium bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Ballpark Hotel Houston
Hotel At The Ballpark
At The Ballpark Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.