We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still learning ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Houston Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Houston Downtown to your Saves list
The Westin Houston Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1520 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #52 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Still learning ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The rooms are updated and clean, especially when compared to the very old rooms at the Westins by the galleria. They have very convenient power outlets which is always a plus. The bathrooms are probably not up to westin standards but they aren't bad at all since they seem pretty new. Just a little odd to have plastic wood floors in the bathroom and the shower head is not the normal westin shower head.

This hotel is your only SPG option downtown and they know it. The staff tries hard and means well but there just isn't the crispness that you would expect, especially as a platinum member. This hotel is more geared toward one time convention people and not weekly SPG guests. They don't seem to notice that people are staying there multiple times a month and when any issue comes up it is ignored. The service express number is sometimes never answered and if it is there is a 30 percent chance that your request will be denied or forgotten about. I have never stayed in a hotel where it is so difficult to get a taxi even if I call down ahead if time. When I arrive at the valet and ask for a taxi they always look confused by the request and let me know it will be at least twenty minutes. All other downtown hotels even in Houston have taxis waiting. I think it is because this hotel is just unaware of the needs of a frequent traveler since it is geared more towards conventions. Overall the facilities are acceptable for a Westin but they lack the polish I have come to expect from SPG and show no concern for frequent SPG guests. This seems odd because they are frequently asking close to 400 a night for a room when the other hotels are asking much less.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    32
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
23
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Gorgeous hotel.Beautiful room. Generally attentive staff. Wonderful buffet. But beware of rooms on side of hotel facing Annunciation Church. Be ready for 6:00 am, pre-dawn, wake-ups with LOUD bell-ringing. 63 peals (bongs) yesterday morning. Then again, yesterday morning, at 6:30 am - about 45 peals. Then again today, at 6:00 am, pre-dawn, another 50 loud bell bongs. You can see the bell tower in the picture above. It is about 50 feet across a narrow street from the hotel. Unless you rise before 6 am, even on Saturdays and Sundays, be very, very careful with room selection. When I voiced my concern to the front desk, they told me that, yes, this has been a problem for some guests and that the only thing they could do would be to give me a room with windows facing in towards the lobby atrium (so, sacrificing light but, they said, exposed to bar sounds at night).

Why this Church would need to be pealing bells before dawn at 6:00 am in Downtown Houston, when they likely don't offer masses that early in the morning and this is not a residential area, is beyond me. It is a horrible nuisance and, really, torturous. I underscore that this is not necessarily the hotel's fault, but I do think that it should be up to Westin management to find some sort of solution. Perhaps persuade the Church only to peal the bells after 8:00 am? Or in the afternoons and evenings? Or provide better sound insulation on that side of the hotel?

It pains me to write a negative review of this hotel, especially since otherwise my stay has been a good one. The only other problem was that the hotel Wi-Fi was out on my floor for several hours. The hotel sent two staffers to my room immediately and couldn't find anything wrong with my laptop (after about half an hour of trying and three visits). My laptop was having no problem connecting to other routers. Apparently the hotel's own Wi-Fi router was defective and the staff could not do anything about it.

Again, I so wish I could write a positive review for this hotel. I really do. Westin management: PLEASE address the 6:00 am bell-ringing problem. For families traveling with young children, for guests for whom sleep-deprivation is a health hazard, and simply for guests who want to sleep until 7:30 am or 8:00 am or later, on a Saturday and Sunday no less, the loud, extended clanging of bells before dawn is not hospitable. It's torture.

Room Tip: Avoid facing Annunciation Church! At all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were only here for one night for a wedding.. We've traveled a lot in recent weeks, and I wasn't looking forward to another hotel.. Check in was fast and easy, which meant a lot since the Houston Marathon was being run the next morning and they were fully booked by marathoners. Walking into our room felt like a cleansing deep breath of relief!. Large spacious room in relaxing colors and perfectly decorated room.. The bathroom was spacious and felt like one you would want in your home in it's layout and counter space, while using very nice but not over the top materials. Valet was very efficient with our car, café lunch was delicious as was room service breakfast. The only non rave was the view of a parking lot, but who cared! Outstanding hotel!

Room Tip: Didn't use the spa or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here on business for 3 nights. The rooms are clean and functional. The hotel staff is very helpful and the hotel bar and restaurant are very good. The location is convenient for downtown houston (right accross from Minute Maid park) and there are several bars and restaurants that are within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waco, texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Westin for one night. We were in town for Advocare success school which was in Minute Maid park (across the street). The hotel was conveniently located with easy walking distance to food, entertainment, Minute Maid park & the convention center. The staff that we encountered were courteous, helpful, & knowledgeable about the area.

There were a few things that we would have liked to see improved. As I stated earlier, we stayed at the hotel for the convenience factor to Minute Maid park. However, on Saturday morning since we were checking out, we were forced to move our car to another parking lot. We were informed that if our car stayed with the mandatory valet service past check out time (12pm) we would be charged another full day. This was a little frustrating considering that we had already paid almost $30 for parking when we arrived at 5pm on Friday & then had to move our car at 8am on Saturday. If I had to do it all over again, I would have probably just parked my car in a nearby overnight garage & saved the valet money.

The other issue was that our air conditioner was very noisy. The first time we were in the room & it turned on, we looked outside to see what the commotion of about. Then we realized we were in for a treat the rest of the night :) Every time it would kick on in the middle of the night, it would wake me up and I am not a light sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about this newly-refurbished Westin. The room was spacious, sparkling clean, and comfortable, with top-notch amenities and bedding. The check-in was fast and friendly. I parked right across the street in a metered spot--free on Saturday night and all day Sunday, so my parking was free and convenient. The public spaces are attractive and cozy. The fact that this Westin is only 4 stories and not a massive tower gives it a very pleasant, almost boutique-hotel atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you're a baseball fan then this hotel is right next to Minute Maid Park. It is also close (walking distance) to downtown. The hotel has recently been taken over by Starwood and they have some a very nice job of refurbishing. Bar staff are very friendly and gave us lots of ideas for things to do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Houston Downtown

Address: 1520 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Family Hotel in Houston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#53 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Houston Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Houston Downtown,formerly Inn at the Ballpark, is conveniently located near many of Houston's attractions including George R. Brown Convention Center, Discovery Green (one of Houston's most visited parks), and for fans of the arts, The Hobby Center for the Performing Arts and the Houston Symphony. Treat yourself to a baseball game at Minute Maid Park, a concert at the Toyota Center, or a soccer match at the BBVA Compass Stadium - all located within blocks of our downtown Houston hotel.Our goal is that you leave our Houston Downtown hotel feeling better than when you arrived - stay on top of work in the business center, power up at your pace in our Westin Workout Fitness Studio, or eat well in our award winning restaurant, Vic & Anthony's. Enjoy traditional charm and inspiring views in any of our 200 guest rooms and suites, featuring 14' ceilings and ceiling fans. Work at the modern desk or relax on the leather furniture. Get a blissful night’s rest on your Westin Heavenly Bed®, and refresh with premium bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Ballpark Hotel Houston
Hotel At The Ballpark
At The Ballpark Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.