We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #14 of 456 Hotels in Houston
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

The hotel is very elegant. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The bathroom and shower were out of this world, huge.
The only pitfall was the downtown nightlife waking me up around 2 and 3 in the morning. Probably best to visit during week, I would imagine. For the money, this hotel was worth it.

  • Liked — cleanlines, historical value
  • Disliked — very loud nightlife
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    143
    48
    18
    18
See reviews for
44
181
50
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

This is a nice hotel.

I just needed a room near Minute Maid Park for one night (in town to see Astros Sat. afternoon and Sunday as well), and found a great rate on the Net for the Icon. The rooms, furnishings, linens, etc. are plush, and the public areas in this former bank building are airy and pleasant. As a previous reviewer noted, the bathrooms are impressive. I prefer the shower to the bath almost exclusively, but that huge elevated tub was extremely inviting.

MMP is walking distance for most. If it's too hot or you simply are unwilling or unable to cover the distance on foot, the hotel will drive you to the ballpark. Valet parking is too expensive, but they graciously allowed me to leave my car in their lot after I had checked out on Sunday, sparing me the inconvenience of loading up the car, driving 4 blocks to pay $20 to park outside the game, etc.

I would stay here in a heartbeat at the discounted rate (a little over $150/night). I can't afford the $200+ they usually get, but if that's your norm, your money will be well spent here.

My only quibble is with the bar. I inquired about red wine by the glass and the bartender poured what to my knowledge was their only option. It was blend of some sort and it was certainly adequate. Unfortunately, as I later discovered, it was also $14/glass. I have had $14/glass wine plenty of times, and this wasn't all that. A bar menu w/prices might be useful . . .

  • Liked — Staff; general ambiance
  • Disliked — expensive bar
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

This is an amazing hotel. The downstairs lobby is so plush and original with the bookshelves, desks and old bank vault. The rooms are great and the bathroom was my favorite part. A huge tub and a separate shower w/ a great shower head. Just be aware that not all bathrooms have a tub, so if you want to relax in a bubble bath, make sure you ask ahead of time for a room with a full bathroom.

  • Liked — nice room
  • Disliked — had to change rooms a few times to get everything we wanted
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

The Hotel Icon was overbooked and sent me packing, even with a "guaranteed" reservation, at 1am.

Ok. I know this can happen. But as a business traveler, traveling all day and jet lagged, getting to a hotel at a wee hour with an early morning appointment, I cannot forgive being told that "We have no rooms." They shouldn't have taken my guaranteed reservation. Instead, they overbooked and put someone else in ahead of me.

If you are intent on staying here and are arriving late, good luck. For me, never again. There are plenty of nice hotels in the same area, for the same price or better. They will have my custom, but not the Icon.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

This is an excellent hotel. Our room was fabulous - the bathroom was the size of a hotel room on its own - with a jetted jacuzzi tub and full shower. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The gym was astoundingly well equipped. The staff was polite and courteous at every turn. They also have a great bar.

A few concerns - the street noise is kind of ridiculous - I'm not sure what they can do about this or if certain rooms are more quiet. For instance - there is some sort of clock with a bell at the corner of Travis and Congress that starts ringing at 7am. Probably a plus for business travelers - but not for the weekend getaway I was on! You could also hear the MetroRail every time it went by - but on the plus side, it's only 150ft to the stop - so you can ride up and down town - like to the museum district or Reliant stadium. The second concern is the essentially mandatory valet parking, for $25 per night - which for my purposes was parking the car once and picking it up when we left; thank you, that will be $50 plus tip. You don't even need to drive since the hotel has an antique car and will drive you around within a certain radius. I know this probably discounts the room cost for a business traveler flying in and the hotel can charge whatever they want since there doesn't seem to be any alternative overnight parking anywhere nearby - but come on, $25? This isn't New York City - it's the north side of downtown Houston. Either build that charge into your room cost or get real.

Otherwise, it was a lovely hotel and I would certainly return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

I suprised my husband for Christmas with a romantic night away. The room at the Hotel Icon was very romantic and the bathroom fabulous. We had good service at every stage. Our first room had an unusual odor and they changed our room immediately, even sending someone to retrieve a bottle of hairspray left in the original room very quickly. The decor is luxurious, the bed very comfortable and the television top notch. We would definitely return for a romantic night or two away from the kids.

  • Liked — The decor in the room and bathroom
  • Disliked — The sound from the street below
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

This was my second stay in the Icon and it remains an excellent hotel. The staff service is very good and the facilities and location are excellent. The breakfast is great and they have a very good shower.

  • Liked — The excellent service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Address: 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#14 Business Hotel in Houston
#61 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.