We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand and Elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #14 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grand and Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Charming hotel. Tons of character, beauty and refined appointments. Staff were professional, courteous and kind. Valet was prompt and friendly. The restaurant is crisp, modern and elegant...with excellent staff.

Out guest room was quite beautiful. Lots of detail and extra character throughout. Endlessly high ceilings, I'd guess 18-20 feet high. Excellent view of the Houston skyline! Every visible area was pristine!

A note to Hotel Icon (as well as all hotels) that guests are now concerned with bed bugs. With that said, more of us (guests) are thoroughly checking the bedding and mattress for said insect. There were *no* bugs found in our room. None! However, other debris was. Housekeeping MUST pull the mattress from the wall/headboard to remove debris and vacuum. They must, as we are now looking there!

We stayed in late August 2014, suite 1210. The room rate for our suite was $499 a night. I expect all areas of the room to be clean, including behind the mattress....since we now check that spot. With the exception of behind the mattress, all areas of our suite were spotless. I was confident the room was clean.

I would stay here again and again....assuming the mattress/headboard area has been addressed.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. I am sharing this with our Rooms team to make sure that we don't miss a spot. We really appreciate the feedback from our guests! I look forward to your return stay at Hotel ICON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    143
    48
    18
    18
See reviews for
44
182
50
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel has an old feel to it but with modern amenities. Historic feel, but very clean. Very friendly staff and the restaurant food was great. Located only a few blocks from the MetroRail so getting around Houston was easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hotel ICON is located near to the Metrorail and close to the museums, ball parks, event centers and all of Downtown Houston.

Thank you for your comments and review of our property. I hope you get a chance to stay with us again the future!

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

It's a charming old hotel with nicely updated rooms and awful to non-existent wifi. Spent 15 minutes with tech support only to be to be told "A lot of people go,to the lobby." Not acceptable.
The breakfast buffet is pretty poor for $18.95 and I resent the $29 mandatory valet parking because I hate being nicked and dimed. But the room was very nice, the shower was huge. Wish I could have been there with my sweetheart. Will never stay again on business.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Hotel ICON. Please do contact me regarding your stay and future visits as I will be happy to preselect a room that is directly closer to Wifi Access Points. We are working to upgrade Wifi Services including a recent addition of Band Width and new access ports coming soon.

I do hope we get a chance to show off the Hotel ICON to you in the future.

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great experience from the moment we drove up. Valet took great care of our car and was very prompt at bringing it to us when needed. Front desk was just the BEST! Friendly greetings, smooth check in, provided all the info about the hotel we needed to know and even walked us to the elevator and got us on the way to our room. Room was fabulous. We had a king room with a whirlpool tub. Bathroom was huge and had whirlpool plus a standalone shower. Room had a sitting area as well as a desk. Wifi in room was a little sluggish. Ice bucket delivery as within minutes of walking in door. We got a great nights sleep in room. Breakfast downstairs was really nice. There was a nice selection: smoothies, oatmeal with toppings, yogurt, fresh fruit, bengals, toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage links. The only complaint was the coffee was burnt. Orange juice was good. Checkout was a smooth process and we would definitely come back. Hotel was right on the metro rail route.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Bacon! Thank you for your comments about Hotel ICON. Anytime Bacon is mentioned I get excited! We are very proud of the Hotel ICON and all it has to offer. I do hope that we can have you back in the future once again! We appreciate your review!!!

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Beautiful hotel with great decoration, situated in an ancient bank with a vault .There were gorgeous enamel painted panels in the elevators, the room was beautiful with a pleasant bathroom, fabulous restaurant and fantastic breakfast.
Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We thank you for your stay!!!! The Hotel ICON design is fantastic. Come check it out! Beautifully decorated and historic in nature!

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed here several times, but it had been a few years. Now I remember why I love this hotel so much. Attentive staff. Wonderful architecture, historical but as clean and fresh as a new hotel. The bed is luxurious and comfortable. AC kept the room nice and cool. Our room was on 10th floor with a nice view. Even though we were close to the elevator, which made me a little nervous due to usual people traffic noise, there was absolutely not a sound heard all night. Great deal for the price. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Welcome Back! Thank you for your comments and I am happy to have you back at Hotel ICON. Don't be a stranger! We are always excited to hear how people like the hotel, its history and the comfort.

I look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I love staying at the Renaissance hotels from Marriott. This one in Houston is one of the best. Good downtown location, beautiful architecture. My girlfriend and I shared a two queen room, the bathroom was gorgeous and spacious, the beds were comfortable, and the location was very close to the Convention center where we were attending a quilt show.
Plan to return with husband in the fall for football game.
Only downside for some would be lack of parking, we opted for valet for convenience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments about Hotel ICON in Downtown Houston. We love the hotel and we are pleased to hear how others view the property. Unfortunately downtown parking is tight and there is a charge. Im glad that your overall stay was fantastic and we look forward to a return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Address: 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#14 Business Hotel in Houston
#61 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.