We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #14 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Third time at this hotel this year and never had any issues. Spacious rooms, unique decor and staff all around are great! I would suggest this hotel for anyone needing to stay in Downtown Houston. Valet is the the fastest I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your patronage. The entire team appreciates your endorsement and looks forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    143
    48
    18
    18
See reviews for
44
182
50
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Quirky. Old fashioned glam is what I think they were going for with a touch of Louisiana flair. Didn't quite nail it. Location is great although tough to find when Apple maps will not cooperate. Odd window in bathroom that allows you to see everything in bedroom. Great if you're in the room alone but even with the shutters closed, can hear everything. Lack of feather pillows was a definite negative. Front staff were lovely, the valets a bit off and inconsistent in their helpfulness - as in, they didn't really want to help but then they remembered that you might tip them.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've lived "around" Houston for the last 15 years. I don't know if I just didn't really ever know Houston or if Houston really has developed as a destination in only the last few years. I have been going to downtown Houston for the last year as I'm going to law school there and I have been blown away by the Houston I've discovered. I have travelled from San Francisco to New York and several times throughout Europe, including month long stays in Paris, staying with family in Italy and Austria and working in Spain for a Summer. I've also spent time traveling in South East Asia (Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia and Malaysia). Against this background, I have always talked smack about Houston as not being a pedestrian friendly city or having much to offer. Over the last year I've had to eat my words. Houston is slowly but surely transforming itself into a wonderful destination with great hotels, dinning, entertainment and arts scenes awaiting to be discovered by the millions of suburbanites who drive into Houston often but only drive "by" the Houston I've discovered. I've taken many family members (including my mother) and given them a walking tour of downtown and, without exception, everyone says they had no idea how interesting Houston could be. Why am I telling you all of this? Because I wanted my wife to discover the Houston I've gotten to know and I decided the Hotel Icon was the perfect place for this. I have stayed at the Za Za hotel and I guess I'm just not the "glitzy" type. I'm 33 and the ZaZa seemed to me to be loaded with the "look at me I'm in a rented Limo" type. Too much of a prom crowd for my taste. I knew I wanted a hotel in the middle of downtown and I wanted to bring my wife to a historic hotel. I decided on the Icon primarily based on location and I think I nailed it. The hotel is very well maintained and the service is attentive. Nothing spectacular but I'd rather have genuine service than over the top pomp. The decoration is nicely done, simple elegance with a touch of Texan. The elevators, staircase lighting and the massive vault door (from the original bank from 1911) harken back to a different era. The room was a Standard King room. It was at least twice as big as the Zaza room with a spacious bathroom, including a tub and shower and desk, tea table with two plush seats to sit and read by the window or in room dinning. The location is great. Located at one of the corners of Market Square, you can take a few steps to several places for breakfast, lunch, dinner and even Sunday brunch. Directly across the front door of the hotel you find Batanga, perhaps the nicest outdoor dinning area, this new spot has a great selection of Latin infused Tapas, which you can enjoy at the bar/lounge area or outdoors in the patio (recommended anytime in the afternoon once the midday sun has passed). They have live music often. A great spot to sit and simply take in the sounds and sights of the city. A few steps can also take you to Hearsay Gastropub. Probably the best selection of cocktails in downtown and a great menu to choose from. From burgers to duck, there si something for every taste and the buildout is wonderful urban reclamation project type with a modern touch and simple elegance again. for a walking "stand" lunch or dinner swing by the Niko Niko's in the middle of the beautifully landscaped market square and sit out under the shade. From there, you can see the remnants of Houston's historic district around you. Including the two oldest commercial buildings left in downtown. La Carafe was built in 1860 and operates as a cash only bar (beer and wine) (the register dates from long before the time of Visa and Mastercard so bring cash (although I'm convinced you could establish credit at the bar given enough account history). Try a St. Arnold lawnmower (brewed only a few blocks away in one of Houston's true "MICRO" breweries. Leave the Shiner Bock for the dude ranch. I Love some Shiner, but when in Houston, drink Houston). Taco Fusion is a great new addition. When a taco truck establishes itself as a brick and mortar restaurant you know they are doing something right. Walk over to the museum district for a show or concert or hop on the light rail for a quick trip to the Museums in the museum district or even the zoo if you have the time. All along main street you will find bars and restaurants to explore and a couple of blocks down main you can hang out at the Rice lofts restaurants, pubs or cafe's (This was the hotel where JFK spent his last night on earth, he was assassinated the next day in Dallas). Across the street you can discover the small gardens around the Christ Church Cathedral, where you can sit and read for hours as well. If you can, go discover Discovery green. Check out the schedule and maybe you can catch a film being projected out on an inflatable screen, yoga in the mornings, Zumba classes outdoors, remote control sailboat rentals on the weekends, etc. Phoenicia is a great place to load up a basket of goodies for a pic nic (at discovery green or get on the light real down to herman park and pic nic under the shade of a live oak aroudn the japanese garden!!!) or have Saturday and Sunday Brunch at the MKT Cafe (live music on Sunday). Don't forget to check out Miro's Parsonage with Birds in front of the Chase building (I think this is a representation of the City of Houston's eclectic fusion of tradition and modern, balance and funk, conservatism and liberalism, science and art, commerce and community all working together in an unlikely balanced structure resulting in a colorfully fun city!!!) Sneak up to the 60th floor Sky lobby for views of the city during office hours or try the Wells Fargo Plaza Sky-lobby for an even better view. If you like, also set out and discover tranquility park and the Houston Public Library, Contemporary Art Museum, Museum of Natural History, Buffalo Soldiers Museum, Children's Museum and Holocaust museum. All of this is easily accessed from the Hotel Icon for a fun get away in Houston. I look forward to staying at the Lancaster and Magnolia Hotels for a comparative review later on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel Icon is in a great location, near the ball fields, cool bars and restaurants! We only stayed one night but enjoyed our drinks at the bar, checking out all the historic features of the hotel including the vault behind the check in counter! Our room was exceptionally clean, the bathroom was amazing and the bed and pillows very comfortable! I highly recommend a night on the town at this hotel1

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a big surprise. Absolutely beautiful lobby and restoration. Rooms were well appointed with huge bathtub and large shower. Truly 1st class accommodations. The Spanish Tapas place across the street from the hotel was awesome, so put it on your visit list.

Room Tip: Better views on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As you enter the lobby of this hotel, you walk into a different era of luxury and hospitality. Take time to absorbed the architecural details from early last century that are artfully blended with clean modern lines. In the evening you are greeted at the door with ice tea and the hotel's signature spicy pecans - big, juicy halves coated in sugary cinnamon with just a hint of heat. A treat for the taste buds! Original details abound from the old fashioned elevators with clock-like dials that show from which floor the elevator is descending, to the tile in the large bathrooms. The color pallette in the rooms is relaxing. Now the biggest treat is the over-sized soaking tub. You are able to schedule a bath butler who will provide the luxury of oils and rose petals. The vanity is a long and spacious slab of marble trimmed with authentic 20's details. Room serivce is spot-on and the menu reached outside the limits of standard room service fare. Relax a little and enjoy!

Room Tip: Each floor has rooms very close to the elevator banks (numbers would be X00 and X02) - ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Hotel Icon Houston is in a historic bank in a revitalizing area of downtown, which is what drew me there. The rooms are really nice and clean and the hotel staff is great. The only issue that I had was with the poor service in the restaurant. The good was good but the service was not.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Address: 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#14 Business Hotel in Houston
#61 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.