We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #14 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I love this hotel. The decor is eclectic. The old fashioned floor tile, subway tile and Carrera marble in the bathroom is gorgeous. The huge bathtub is a treat and the separate shower is a plus. Everything is beyond clean. Front desk and wait staff were very attentive and friendly. My only compliant would be the taxi situation. We waited for the taxi for about a half hour. Apparently, the bellman called twice. One never showed. The hotel shuttle driver took us to the taxi cue.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    143
    48
    18
    18
See reviews for
44
182
50
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while on business in Downtown. Staff is friendly and place feels cosy.
Bathroom is spacious but room is rather smallish in comparison. Internet is free at reasonable speed. The lobby benefits from high ceiling which makes it comfortable to hang around.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the top floor to ensure quiet sleep. If breakfast is not included, you can skip the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

i visited texas in 2012.used hotels restaurant which was by far the best in Texas.during 5 months i ve been so many places but didnt face such superior hospitality and service. just approched to desk get some information about rates and hotel amenities desk agent struck me by his beautiful smile which made me think im some kind of extraordinary VIP guest (he was black guy unfortunately i forget his name) then he took the key and showed me type of rooms and explained me everything in as much detail as possible then showed me pool and other amenities. in one word that guy was awesome. so far i recomend my friends upon their visit to Texas to stay in icon.the management doing it definately right there

Room Tip: i liked corner suites and view over minute maid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is boutique-style in Main street of Houston downtown area, different and elegant. Breakfast is OK as well as price. The front door is facing Congress St. Light rail and bus station is in the corner.

Room Tip: choose higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was hard to decide the rating for this hotel. It's definitely a high-end hotel with lots of comfort and a convenient location, but the value isn't there.

I ordered five meals via in-room dining, and the majority had an issue one way or another. The first day, the person at the other end of the phone didn't know what kinds of wine were available. She said she'd check and call back but never did. The next time the steak was overcooked. Another time, the food was cold. Gracious inquiries and complaints were met with shrugs and reflexive "Oh, sorry."

Housekeeping was not much better. My son's reading book was lost when the housekeeper changed the sheets and took them away without noticing a book under the covers. Used drinking glasses were not replaced. Overall, the service is best deemed uncaring.

This hotel has the potential to be really great. It has a nice location in downtown Houston, but lacks warmth and the kind of personal touch one expects at a high-end hotel, particularly for Marriott Platinum members.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We appreciate your comments and assure you that your issues have been resolved. We hope you will allow us another opportunity in the future.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been stayed at the Icon since . it was always a good choice for a down town stay, specially in business but looking for a certain glamour. This time it seems that the hotel has excessively increased its rates and, in addition, we had problems this last time. The internet signal at room 317 was inexistent and The hanger at the bathroom was broken.
The restaurant and bar, on the other hand, continue to be great. The dinner was excellent. 02 persons, wonderful food, good wine - less than $100,00. The happy hour gave us a excellent surprise - drinks and food all $ 5,00 each.

I would stay again but not to pay $350 p. night . To the restaurant and Bar i will turn every time that i am in Houston.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments and please join us again in the future. We have our Happy Hour 7 days a week from 2pm to 7pm and then reverse Happy Hour that starts at 9pm to midnight.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Part of the Marriott Autograph Collection, Hotel Icon is a boutique-style hotel on the edge of downtown Houston. It's walking distance to the Wortham Center (opera, ballet, theater), which is why I stayed there. The room was quite comfortable, quiet, and had three layers of curtains which blacked out light quite well.

One of the nice features of the hotel is the Line & Lariat bar. It's possible to order food in the bar from a late-night menu. The drinks are fabulous and the patrons extremely friendly. The bar is circular, and that seems to promote people talking to their neighbors.

This is a hotel that really could be a 4-star if it weren't for a few things that, with more attention to detail and service, could easily be remedied.

1. The hallway air conditioning was set uncomfortably low. It's a waste of energy, which surprised me because hotels are making efforts these days to be green.

2. The maid arrived at 9 AM on the first day of a three-night stay, so we asked her to return in an hour or two. She never returned that day even though we were out of the room from 10:30 AM until 4:30 PM. When we phoned they sent someone.

3. There were plates of half-eaten food piled on a table by the elevator that remained there for over two days until I alerted the front desk. In most hotels housekeeping alerts room service to pick up.

4. Although the hotel provided complimentary iced tea and nuts in the lobby, each time I went to get ice tea, there weren't any glasses. Most other hotels restock as soon as they see supplies getting low.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues getting from the elevator, keep in mind that the handicapped room is loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. I have addressed your issues with the staff and assure you we have improved since your last stay.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Address: 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#14 Business Hotel in Houston
#61 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.