We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice historical property - would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #14 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Very nice historical property - would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed one evening on a quick trip to Houston. Really enjoyed the hotel. Stayed in a deluxe king. The room was well decorated. King bed was very comfortable. The bath room was the highlight, with double vanity, jacuzzi tub and a large separate shower. The toilet was not in a separate alcove, but was out in the open. Service was good. The lobby is a very nice space. The gym is in the basement, not the best location, but nicely equipped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    140
    48
    18
    17
See reviews for
44
176
50
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights after arriving in Houston from London.
The hotel is an old bank with the lobby bar area retaing much of its character from its days as a banking hall with high ceilings and the giant safe behind reception.

The rooms were large - especially the bathroom. Great walk in shower with good soaps etc provided. The hotel has a shuttle service that will take you anywhere in 3mile radius. Other wise taxis are quite reasonable.

Tried to get breakfast but wasn't sure if was buffet or table service. Was quite busy with wedding party so ventured out instead.

There are a few nice bars nearby - the hearsay is def worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

After a long day of travel, we arrived on a Friday night to find the all-in-one lobby/restaurant/ bar area lovely but hopping and noisy. The front desk staff was attentive and friendly, even coming around the counter to peak to us so that we could hear. (It was that noisy!) Upstairs, however, we opened the door to our room to discover that it had not, in fact, been cleaned at all - -bed unmade, robes on the floor, etc.. The front desk staff was apologetic and after a few minutes of hunting, upgraded us to the penthouse level. We went to the second room only to discover the exact same thing, only worse with empty liquor bottles strewn about. At this point the staff was not only apologetic, but embarrassed too. It took some time for them to locate a third room for us -- perhaps a half hour or more - -but in the end we were given a suite on the penthouse level and breakfast coupons for both mornings of our stay. As annoying as the entire experience was, it was handled so well by the staff, Rita in particular, that we were won over.

The architecture throughout the hotel is beautiful: tall ceilings, arched entrances, wood paneling. The restaurant and bar was transformed in the morning to a tranquil setting for the nice buffet breakfast with excellent service. The complimentary shuttle was a convenient means to get to and from the nearby opera house, although take note that it only runs til 11pm, even on weekend nights.

All in all, despite the rough start, we look forward to staying here again on our next trip to Houston.

Room Tip: The bar/lobby area was loud at night during the weekend of our stay. Although the walls and doors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at the ICON several times over the past two years. It's close to all the entertainment venues and lots of interesting bars (La Carafe Houston's oldest bar) and restaurants. The hotel was once a bank building and they've left a lot of the details of the old bank in place. The rooms are comfortable and some rooms come with a whirlpool tub that has a window opening into the room so you can take a soak and watch TV. Lovely. The beds are comfy with down comforters and lots of pillows. The shades and drapes make it very dark so you can sleep in after a night on the town. Perfect quick getaway spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a whirlpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, rhode island
Top Contributor
590 reviews 590 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location- quick walk to public transportation allowing easy access to the sights. Very good breakfast at hotel. Pleasant, friendly, smiling staff to greet you and attend to your needs. The rooms have been lovingly refurbished and the beds are extremely comfortable. The building was originally a bank and the bank vault door is present in the reception area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Icon for four nights. This is my second stay and it was equally as enjoyable. Because it's an old bank built in the earlier part of the 1900s, the building itself is clearly a top quality structure, from the stone exterior to the solid wood doors to each room. Typically you hear other traveler's doors shut or hear them walking down the hall, or the person in the room above, not here! After you walk into your room it's easy to forget that you are staying in a hotel. The hotel has a soft water system so showering is a little different if you are not accustomed to that. The front desk staff is very attentive and friendly. Even after the stay, when I called to get a copy of my folio, they were extremely helpful and emailed it within 2 minutes of getting off the phone....that doesn't happen just anywhere! The set up for breakfast appeared to be somewhat confusing. I had vouchers for breakfast, I was seated by the hostess but it was unclear if I was going to have someone waiting on me or not. A waiter did come over and pour me coffee and juice before I went to get my omelet at the bar, however, I never saw him again and didn't know if I was supposed to recieve a bill so I could tip him or not. Location-wise, Hotel Icon is a little off the beaten path and Needless to say, this is a very nice hotel and I always try to stay there when I'm in Houston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynne, AR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but my wife enjoys hotels in classic, old buildings. This hotel fit the bill. Being in an old bank building gave the hotel character, and the rooms were quite large. The bathrooms were extremely large for a hotel and included a separate shower and bathtub. The bedding was very comfortable. This hotel still offers turndown service, and the blackout shades actually worked to keep the room dark in the morning.

The fitness center has almost as much equipment as a regular gym including free weights, treadmills, etc. and a spa in the basement of the hotel.

The location is within walking distance to Minute Maid Park and the convention center. The light rail stops just outside the hotel connecting you to many places in Houston (ie. the Museum district).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Address: 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#13 Business Hotel in Houston
#61 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.