We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and very special.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 451 Hotels in Houston
Regensburg
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very nice and very special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

In general a very nice and unique hotel. They put a lot of efforts in details which adds a really nice movie like atmosphere. You think, that any moment Gary Cooper will come around the corner. My room was nice but small. The bath room was wonderful.
The breakfast in the morning was from my point of view disappointing for the price the hotel takes per night. Ver poor selection !
Just for info: The hotel is owned by magic Johnson

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    132
    47
    18
    17
See reviews for
42
168
50
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The photos online do not do this hotel justice. The guestrooms are so beautiful and spacious. The staff is very friendly. The area is a rather deserted on the weekends, but it is the business district.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed two nights and wished my wife was with me to enjoy the hotel. Beautiful lobby and room, nice bar, good restaurant. The hotel workout room turned out to be a fully functional gym with all popular machines and good qualtiy, well maintained equipment. Comfortable beds (A Marriott hallmark). Could use a in-hotel commissary. Several good looking restaurants and bars within a block or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had an early flight back to NYC from College Station—and while the Icon is not what you'd consider an "airport hotel," it is a huge step up from the usual dreary offerings. I'm not sure whether this hotel has recently been refurbished or is just remarkably well-maintained. Either way, our room was lovely and spacious with a gorgeous and well-provisioned bathroom. Staff are well-trained, friendly and helpful. The setting, in an historic area of Houston, is lovely. The ride to Bush Intercontinental Airport was less than 30 minutes—but beware if you try to do this much later than 5:30 a.m.

Room Tip: We made requests for feather free, extra pillows, and a high floor—all of which were honored. The a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I hadn't been to Houston in years, so I jumped at a chance to stay with the girlfriend here for her work. Plus it's a Marriott property so more elite nights. When I got here last night, I liked this immediately. The hotel is an old bank building with big open spaces and a bit of an Art Deco look to it with lots of bright red things. We enjoyed a drink at the bar...a few texas beers on tap and some damn good truffle fries.

As for the room, it's hard to beat. Nice soaps and shampoos in a very spacious bathroom. My GF had mentioned how good the shower was, and no doubt, she hit on the mark. Lots of room in the tub and great pressure. I know it might be odd to point out a shower but after a long day and a flight from Dallas, it hit the spot. Spacious rooms with a lot of color to them.

In the morning, we were able to get a free shuttle to our convention...driver/valet was very friendly and helpful in that regard and this looks like a good service they offer to all guests.

Also, this is in an area of downtown where it's easy to walk to other things in downtown or hop on a light rail. No doubt, if we come back to Houston for anything again, I don't need to book anywhere else other than here. One of the nicer hotels I've been in in a long time. Keep it up...and a steal for the government rate.

Room Tip: Nice east view of minute maid park from room 1104
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We ended up at the Icon because all of the convention hotels were full.....what a blessing in disguise!!! The staff greeted us by name during our entire stay. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast every morning, again staff was excellent! I was concerned about the cab rides to and from the Convention Center until I discovered the Icon offers free shuttle service! It was like having a private Limo. Our room was delightful - we should be so lucky as to have this Master Bath at home. Oh yea - within walking distance to the Metro. I'm ready to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my first trip to Houston and it was for business so I can't speak much to the location. However, the hotel itself was beautiful. Cool boutique environment with great rooms, nice amenities, good food. Only complaint is that the free internet connection was spotty and very slow. I'd come back here though, for business or fun.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon f, General Manager at Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return soon.


Thank you,
Sharon Fuller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Address: 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#14 Spa Hotel in Houston
#22 Business Hotel in Houston
#73 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.