We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #25 of 447 hotels in Houston
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was comfortable, room was small, but clean. We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and professional. We had drinks and dessert at the bar. House dessert was delicious and my husband's martini was excellent.
The bartender, a female, was professional but could have been
more friendly and did not offer a coffee refill. Our room was on the top floor and was too warm. The thermostat was "locked" at seventy degrees. It would have been comfortable at 68. Our room was small with one queen bed.
While overall, the hotel was very nice and our stay was pleasant, I probably would not choose this hotel again. It was a good value, though.

Room Tip: Choose lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    120
    41
    18
    16
See reviews for
34
144
50
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Icon is absolutely my hotel of choice when in town for business. It's a wonderful boutique hotel with top notch amenities and the staff is always phenomenal, I could never say enough about them! The fact that it's a Marriott brand makes it even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is absolutly stunning. I stayed for romance and romance was what I got. Yes there were a few kinks like front desk mistakenly giving my room key to another guest, broken toilet tissue holder, small hole (possible where art was) in a wall, and late room cleaning, but the hotel was very comfortable and sexy. The staff as a whole was very helpful but there were times when I felt like some of the guys attempted to cross the line and become flirtacious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We satyed to celebrate our anniversary. All of the staff did a great job. The hotel was very nice. The front desk was very welcoming Erica especially. All of the Valet team did excellent! Maktar was such a sweetheart. This place was perfect. We look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My stay was great. Hotel Icon's staff gets 100 out of 10 stars. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay amazing. The valet staff Great!! All of The staff at the front desk did a wonderful job taking care of us, especially Erica. I loved it. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is gorgeous. The room is spacious and well decorated. The hotel staff which I interacted with (Erica and a few others like the vallet guy) were warm and welcoming. I only wish the view was a little better and that it was easier to find. The hotel is connected to a restaurant which is on the face which the address is for. So it was confusing getting there. (The drive in entrance for vallet is on Congress.)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed just one night and wanted something near the Wortham Center. The hotel is in a landmark Houston building that once was a bank. (Look for the vault door behind the reception desk.) It's stylish and comfortable, with an impressive bathroom, as other reviewers note, and it was exceptionally quiet. The building has that solid and well-constructed feel of older buildings, with beautiful moldings and arched doorways. The service was the best I've had in a hotel in a while. And the drinks at the bar are worth trying, too--they make interesting mixes with Texas-made gin and vodka. Try it!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (11th) in a corner room and it was very quiet. Don't know what the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection

Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston
Address: 220 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#24 Business Hotel in Houston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#66 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Icon, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.