We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive Lounge makes the difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Americas - Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Americas - Houston to your Saves list
Hilton Americas - Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Holiday Savings!
Ranked #7 of 455 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Executive Lounge makes the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I were here for a CME conference at the convention center she was attending. We booked 3 nights as this is the only hotel that has a covered bridge to the convention center so you can walk right over regardless of the weather. You can choose to self park or valet. We opted for valet at a cost of $30 a night. But there is a covered walking bridge to the parking garage next door if you want. Our room was on the Executive lounge floor with a King size bed and lots of room on the granite top writing desk. We upgraded to the Executive King room for $19.95 a night as it included WiFi ($15 a day otherwise) and access to the Executive lounge. The lounge offers private access with free continental breakfast and snacks and appetizers in the evening. Coffee and beverages included as well. An adult bar is in the lounge for an additional charge. The coffee offered is much better than the coffee you get from brewing yourself in the room. The fruit and pastries are fresh and of restaurant quality. If you want to get the most out of your stay and have added value upgrade to the Executive Lounge. I am thankful we did! PS. The blanket included on our bed was very very warm. If you like a cool night's sleep as we do just use covered sheets as the comforter will lock in all your heat.

Room Tip: If you are going to upgrade to the Executive Lounge try to get a room on the same floor as it makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear HPCBarnabas,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Americas-Houston as your hotel of choice during your conference and upgrading to our Executive Level. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the added amenities that come with the Executive Level rooms.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    344
    69
    14
    0
See reviews for
127
147
44
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband was attending a large meeting at the Hilton Americas. We had an excellent room. There was a small problem with the lock which received immediate and courteous service. The lobby was so pleasant with many seating choices that I did not mind using the free wi fi in the lobby bar, at the lobby starbucks and just sitting in a lobby couch or chair. The banquet for my husband's meeting was excellent! Always a pleasant surprise given how hard it is to feed lots of people at once. We did use the hotel shuttle to go to Brennans for dinner. The shuttle worked fine and Brennans was superb! I would have preferred if the hotel was within walking distance to nice shopping. Otherwise all was great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear BubbieZay,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor and recognizing our cleanliness, service, rooms and banquet operation.

It is nice to read that our hotel shuttle assisted in making for what was a great night out at Brennan’s.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Because of availability, I had to book another hotel for my first night in town. After that, I checked into the Hilton. As soon as I stepped into the lobby, I was impressed - this was in a different class than the hotel I had just left. The lobby has a pleasant scent and it is elegantly decorated. There are many places to sit along with a coffee/bakery kiosk, a restaurant, and some gift shops. The staff in the lobby area was very friendly and accomodating. My room was nice - it was in a corner area so I think it was larger than other standard rooms. It did cost $15/day for wifi, so that was a little disappointing but I guess that's what you get at higher end hotels. It was soooo easy to walk to the GBR conference center from here - there is an indoor skywalk bridge on both the 2nd and 3rd floors. I'd recommend this to others who are in Houston for conferences.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear kemahone,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Americas during your recent visit to Houston and for your recommendation to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here during the recent AQS Quilt Show. Hotel was extremely busy but always attentive. Room was excellent. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Despite being fully booked at the time, the staff was always pleasant and quick to respond to our needs. If I had any complaint, it would be the price of meals. A bit expensive and there was no way to get a quick easy and inexpensive bite to eat. However, that said, I would recommend the hotel to anyone doing business in downtown Houston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Dennis P ,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

Your recognition of our team and guest rooms are appreciated.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a great room. Staff is friendly. Concierge level was great - large area, not cramped as in some locations. If you are at a conference, the location is perfect, and you can walk to a good number of restaurant options.
Air conditioner (this is Houston, it's important!) worked well - very quiet.
Giant big bathroom.
Warning: check your bill carefully. As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I get complimentary internet: "just charge to your room, and it will be subtracted from the bill". Luckily, I did review my bill, called about the charge, :(, got it removed, logged onto the internet, and got charged again!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be in good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear barbara h,

Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and sorry about the internet charges that mistakingly kept appearing on your bill. We have reviewed this wiith out team in order to get this corrected.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hilton made my trip to the International Quilt Show perfect. I enjoyed the valet parking,
the hotel staff and the restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable. The in room coffee
would be the only negative comment that I could make.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Marilyn D,

Thank you for selecting us to be your hotel of choice during the Quilts Market and Festival.

We will continue to work to never disappoint.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed 5 days on Business. The hotel has good rooms/amenities and a good fitness center. Minor items: bed too soft for my liking, water hammer in the shower, some of the treadmills in the fitness center did not have all functions working (heart rate). Location is nearby Minute Maid Park and Toyotoa Center, is relatively convenient to the downtown tunnel system and to Metrorail, and is connected to the convention center, Parking is in the parking garage behind the Hotel. After you check-in, the room key lets you in and out for the garage for the one daily rate ($19). The parking is good until 5 pm on the day of departure. If you want shopping and a wider variety of restaurants, I would prefer the Galleria area. If you are coming for the Medical Center, I would stay closer. It is probably about half an hour by Metrorail to the Medical Center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Tom1397,

Thank you for your feedback. As quality is very important to us, we will surely have the heart rate monitors checked and fixed on our fitness center machines.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#2 Family Hotel in Houston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#6 Business Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011, and has something for everyone. Featuring The Cafe for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the popular Lobby Bar, Java Jive featuring Starbucks, Pappasito's Cantina, 24 hour room service, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and The UPS Store - a great variety for everyone. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Worldwide's 2013 Award of Excellence for service and quality. For business or pleasure, we have it all for you in one hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Americas - Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.