We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in downtown Houston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Americas - Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Americas - Houston to your Saves list
Hilton Americas - Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BKFST/WIFI/PARKING
Ranked #8 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good hotel in downtown Houston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here last Friday, while attending opening day of the Houston Astros 2012 season. If I was going to stay downtown to attend a convention at George R. Brown, see the Astros or stay with family, I'd probably either stay here or the brand-new Embassy Suites next door. Hilton Americas is a pretty good hotel. I've stayed at Hiltons around the country and, along with Hyatt hotels, they offer a consistently good experience...especially for the business traveler. I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years and always found it to my liking.

I actually found a really good deal for an Executive Level room and I booked it several months ago. I had to prepay in advance in order to obtain the lower room-rate. It was worth it. The rooms aren't too terribly huge, but they are nicely appointed, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Slept very well.

Staying on the executive level is nice because free continental breakfast is included (in a private lounge) along with an afternoon cocktail reception.

The pool area is OK but they put way too much chlorine in the pool... The outside patio (just outside the pool area) offers a beautiful view of downtown Houston and the surrounding area, especially at night.

I hear that Spencers bar and restaurant has very good steaks. The lobby bar, located by the front doors, is nice as well. The bartenders are very nice and the drinks are good as is the people-watching.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Camtex27,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

Having a room for you that is clean, comfortable and able to sleep well is part of our Brand pillars and we appreciate hearing when we have succeeded in this area.

Our location is great for anyone attending events at the George R. brown Convention Center, catching an Astros game at Minute Maid Park, a Rockets game or concert at the Toyota Center, a Dynamo soccer game at the new BBVA Compass Stadium (opening in May) or any attractions in downtown Houston.

Thank you for your feedback on our pool and we will look into to make sure our chlorine levels are correct.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    425
    85
    18
    0
See reviews for
159
193
58
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I was attending a conference at the convention centre and I couldn't have asked for more from Hilton Americas. Excellent facilities, large room with a fab view of downtown and a direct link into the convention centre itself. Set up to cater for the business market and it works, I would recommend to anyone attending a conference in Houston.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Oliver N,

Thank you for your review and your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I travel to Houston and work in Midtown often- this is a good location, and good quality hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear JrMushroom,

Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located by the the Convention Center, attached in fact. The only glitch I experienced was an unreasonably long wait for valet to bring car up. Really good service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear mac34,

Thank you for your feedback on your Hilton Americas-Houston experience.

It is great to read you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the delay in retrieving your vehicle from valet and we will be sure to review this with our valet/parking team.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a very good convention hotel it is attached to the George R Brown convetion center so if the weather is not great you do not have to go outside. The Toyota Center is just across the street so we caught two games while we there. Also, Minute Maid Park is an easy walk of about two blocks for baseball games in the summer. On our last visit to this hotel we were upgraded to a corner room which was very spacious and had great night time views. The staff was very accomodating, even offering the services of the "hotel car" to take me to a pharmacy when I fell ill and had to have a prescription filled. The concierge found a pharmacy open on a Sunday which would take a called in prescription from my physician back home. Housekeeping was good as well and the beds were extremely comfortable. I even checked into purchasing the same mattress that they have in the rooms. The only thing that kept me from giving this an excellent is the limited food choices in the hotel. They have expensive and very expensive. We ate in the lobby restaurant one night and the food was okay, but over priced. The wait staff was very attentive in the resaurant as well as in the convention venues. We walked to the House of Blues one night for a group dinner and I believe there are other places to eat that are very close. No problem coming here another time for a convention.

Room Tip: If you can get a free upgrade to a corner room they are great especially if you are staying for an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear jaf24,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Americas-Houston on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you recognizing our great location to the many attractions in the area and, more importantly, our service oriented team. Our goal to to care for, value and respect our guests and we appreciate hearing when our guests leave feeling as we have done so.

We hope you enjoyed the games at the Toyota Center and we hope to have you back with us again during the Houston Astros baseball season.

Thank you again for your review and thank you for staying with us.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

In my experience, Hilton hotels can vary a bit. Hilton Americas - Houston is on the higher end. The layout and service is business-oriented. Lobby, conference rooms, bedrooms, and customer service ran smoothly during our visit. Indoor skybridges connect the Hilton to the Convention Center next door. We took advantage of the free hotel shuttle on a couple occasions to transport us to local restaurants. A simple call and they returned to pick us up in short order.

Room Tip: We had a high floor front-facing room that overlooked the local park, convention center and Minute M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Skewbee,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We were pleased to read you were able to use our complimentary shuttle service and our team was prompt with your requests.

Thank you for your review and for staying with us.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I travel to Houston quite frequently, and I prefer to stay at Hilton Americas when I’m in town. The property is located beside The George R. Brown convention center, so it is quite close to downtown attractions. They offer a parking garage and valet parking for a nominal fee. However, I prefer to park on the street as it’s free in the downtown area between 6PM and 7AM. When there are events at Minute Maid Park or the Toyota Center, it can be a challenge to get a close parking spot, since the hotel sits in between these attractions. Once inside, you will be amazed with the size of this property. It is massive with two wings. They have a couple restaurants on the property including Spencer’s steak house. There are also several bars where alcohol can be purchased. As with most elite members, I prefer to stay in the west wing as it houses the Hilton Honors lounge and the fitness center. The rooms are very nice and clean with nice views of the city. The fitness center is one of the best that I have seen in a hotel. They have free weights, treadmills, elliptical machines, and several other machines. In addition, they have a three-lane Olympic length swimming pool. I have been a Hilton Diamond member for at least five years, and this is one of my favorite properties to stay at. Finally, they do offer shuttle services for local downtown attractions. I highly recommend this property if you’re in the Houston area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear jcoe,

Thank you for such a detailed review and highlighting your great experience.

We want to make sure you and all of our guests feel cared for, valued and respected and we appreciate hearing when we have achieved or exceeded our goal. This combined with a great product and location will continue to provide travelers the perfect experience in one of the best hotels in Houston.

Thank you again for your review, your recommendation and your continued loyalty.


Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#1 Spa Hotel in Houston
#2 Family Hotel in Houston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the popular Lobby Bar, Java Jive featuring Starbucks, Pappasito's Cantina, 24 hour room service, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and The UPS Store - a great variety for everyone. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Worldwide's Award of Excellence for service and quality for four consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Americas - Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.