We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just LOVE this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cockrell Butterfly Center

Cockrell Butterfly Center
1 Hermann Circle Drive, Houston, TX (The Museum District)
713-639-4629
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 452 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Next to the Houston Museum of Natural Science, the glass-enclosed butterfly habitat includes a simulated rainforest and thousands of colorful butterflies. A dramatic 50-foot waterfall and exotic plants transport visitors.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“We just LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We continue to come here during our quarterly medical trips to Houston. This place is so delightful and relaxing. We love all the different butterflies and lovely plants. Don't bypass this if you are visiting the museum!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    49
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderdful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I spent my superbowl morning with two of my daughters at the Houston Museum of Natural Science. The Cockrell Butterfly Center was very nice beginning with the very well informed greeters to the very infromative interactive zones. But the star of the show is the tropical butterfly walk through.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Never fails to delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is one of my grandchildrens favorite places. When they were in strollers and now in middle school, I am always delighted to see the expressions on their faces as they discover something they never saw before!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Already reviewed.. But a must see for plant enthusiasts and scads of lovely butterflies. Gorgeous setting.. Fun for all ages

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loved it! Really had fun. I could not believe all the beautiful butterflies. The plants were nice too. Loved the iguana. Brought two little kids and they had fun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockrell Butterfly Center also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cockrell Butterfly Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cockrell Butterfly Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.