We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderdful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cockrell Butterfly Center

Cockrell Butterfly Center
1 Hermann Circle Drive, Houston, TX (The Museum District)
713-639-4629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 232 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Next to the Houston Museum of Natural Science, the glass-enclosed butterfly habitat includes a simulated rainforest and thousands of colorful butterflies. A dramatic 50-foot waterfall and exotic plants transport visitors.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderdful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I spent my superbowl morning with two of my daughters at the Houston Museum of Natural Science. The Cockrell Butterfly Center was very nice beginning with the very well informed greeters to the very infromative interactive zones. But the star of the show is the tropical butterfly walk through.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    70
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never fails to delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is one of my grandchildrens favorite places. When they were in strollers and now in middle school, I am always delighted to see the expressions on their faces as they discover something they never saw before!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
197 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Already reviewed.. But a must see for plant enthusiasts and scads of lovely butterflies. Gorgeous setting.. Fun for all ages

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loved it! Really had fun. I could not believe all the beautiful butterflies. The plants were nice too. Loved the iguana. Brought two little kids and they had fun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Three stories glass enclosure filled with thousands of butterflies flitting about. Go on a sunny day for the best view. Take a camera and focus on a child's face. Sooner or later, you'll catch a look of true wonder

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockrell Butterfly Center also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cockrell Butterfly Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cockrell Butterfly Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.