We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on a nice day!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cockrell Butterfly Center

Cockrell Butterfly Center
1 Hermann Circle Drive, Houston, TX (The Museum District)
713-639-4629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 242 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Next to the Houston Museum of Natural Science, the glass-enclosed butterfly habitat includes a simulated rainforest and thousands of colorful butterflies. A dramatic 50-foot waterfall and exotic plants transport visitors.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go on a nice day!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Don't come here on a cloudy or overcast day. The butterflies will be sleeping and the visit will not be worth it. Considered getting married here because I heard about it at a bridal show, but it is too small and I didn't want to risk all of the butterflies sleeping.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A visit to another world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Cockrell Butterly Center, located within the Museum of Natural Science, is beautifull landscaped and just a delight to walk round. The butterflies are so pretty, the atmosphere relaxed, and the large waterfall at the centre of the structure gives a refreshing ambiance to the whole place. Love to go there!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaggieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I love the setting and the amount of butterflies in this display. I can spend hours just sitting around and admiring these beautiful creatures.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank janeatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
176 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A great family activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We loved the display and the information on all the different bugs, spiders, flys, and everything else that creeps and crawls. The butterfly house was lovely! Caters very well for families with kids. Well worth a look!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GulliverBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Way to Spend a Winter Afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hands down one of my favorite places to go in Houston! I could spend an entire day there and still not see everything. Has lots of live insects as well as lepidoptera, and many interactive exhibits. Great for all ages, and since you see live butterflies and moths with live plants, it can be different every time you go!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PiscesPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockrell Butterfly Center also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cockrell Butterfly Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing