We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockrell Butterfly Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cockrell Butterfly Center

Cockrell Butterfly Center
1 Hermann Circle Drive, Houston, TX (The Museum District)
713-639-4629
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 51 activities in Houston
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Science Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Next to the Houston Museum of Natural Science, the glass-enclosed butterfly habitat includes a simulated rainforest and thousands of colorful butterflies. A dramatic 50-foot waterfall and exotic plants transport visitors.
houston,tx
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cockrell Butterfly Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a great addition to the Houston Museum of Natural Science. Be sure and go on a sunny day to see the butterflies at their most active. If you are in town doing treatments at the Texas Medical Center, this is a serene place to take you mind off your troubles and is in very close proximity.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    45
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A family journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great to go out with your family. Have fun and learn.It was a lot of people because it was the holiday season but it was very fun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A fun place that kept our kid's attention for several hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you go, it is best to get there early. While going through the start of the center, we met a young entomologist who was taking care of the cages. She was so nice and patient and answered our kid's questions. If you go, I would suggest spending the day downtown. There is a beautiful park with a reflecting pool if the weather is nice. The zoo is nearby and they have a kid's train that runs past the Butterfly center.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beeeeeautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

You have to see it to for yourself. The butterflies are gorgeous. I'm a member of the museum so I visit often.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantagenet, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A butterfly up the nose is worth two in the bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

One of the few attractions I was able to visit and glad I put it at the top of the list! I went in November when the butterflies in Canada are all but dreams of spring. The butterfly centers in eastern Canada are only open for a month in spring, so this is a real treat for a northerner. It may have been my red camera, purple shirt or the light vegan essence of jasmine I was wearing but one particular rice paper butterfly could not get enough of me! Ending up perched on the end of my nose! Or maybe it was the freckles...regardless, this little ...or not so little...friendly butterfly made the trip very memorable. Tread softly and keep a camera..yours and a friend's!... at the ready.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockrell Butterfly Center also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cockrell Butterfly Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cockrell Butterfly Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cockrell Butterfly Center to your Saves list