We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birder's Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edith L. Moore Nature Sanctuary

Edith L. Moore Nature Sanctuary
440 Wilchester Blvd., Houston, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 126 Attractions in Houston
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Birder's Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Edith Moore Sanctuary is a little piece of nature in the city. It is a great area for a nature walk with clear paths, ponds and a creek. There are plenty of benches to sit and enjoy. It is the best area for bird watching. The old cabin has bird feeders that attracted so many birds. I saw 16 different types in an hour. It is hard to find the entrance as it is in a subdivision, so set your GPS and go slow or you will miss it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not for rainy days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went on a rainy day. There isn't really much here if the weather isn't nice enough to walk the trails or you aren't in a school group. Finding the entrance is pretty tricky if you don't have a GPS since it's hidden in a subdivision. We'll go back sometime when the sun is shining to see if we like it better. The log cabin is only open for organized activities so we could only peak in the windows, and the gift shop is really more of a wall in the office than a gift shop,

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“August visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I think that the old saying 'Mad dogs and Englishman go out in the midday sun' is correct in my case.
Mid August and I cycled the 30 minutes from my hotel to the Edith. L. Moore sanctuary and found myself pretty much alone.
Not even the animals were going to brave the heat but that being said I still thoroughly enjoyed my amble around the trails.
I saw quite a few birds flitting about, the usual squirrels and the occasional rabbit so it wasn't a disappointment (although I would have loved to have seen an armadillo).
The highlight was the still pool with its beautiful decking area. I sat and watched hundreds of tiny fish darting around and snapped photos of the lush foliage quite contentedly.
Just before I left I was surprised to see a tortoise just mooching about. I finally had a critter that would stay still long enough for me to get a photo!
I left very happy for the experiance.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful venue and trails easy to find. Wildlife is everywhere for example my friends and I saw 2 armadillos just walking around they didnt even seem bothered by our appereance.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edith L. Moore Nature Sanctuary also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edith L. Moore Nature Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edith L. Moore Nature Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.