We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   904 Dallas Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #150 of 458 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The room is big and comfy, nice outdoor pool and jacuzzi on the 3 floor, I got to enjoyed that and watch sunset. The location is sorta bad, but I guess its like that in downtown in any city. Right in the corner there's a bus stop, so you get all kind of people waiting for the bus. I have not been here for 15 years, I think Houston has gone down, the pavillion galleria half was empty, most of the business is gone. You get a lot of liquor stores there and a lot of people hanging around the area where the subway and those stores. So becareful when you walk around at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallsm271, Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your time with us. We appreciate your feedback as we continually strive to improve each guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    58
    31
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
15
7
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at the Residence Inn while in downtown Houston for a convention at the convention center. Other, "official" hotels for the convention were much closer to the convention center adn also more expensive. This is a great alternative; lower cost, full (good too!) breakfast, free wifi throughout the hotel, and about a 7block walk to the con vention center. The hotel is nice, rooms are spacious, breakfast is a good selection of hot and cold items, and wifi worked great. Every single staff member I encountered was very friendly, helpful, and just first-rate. If it is your first time to downtown Houston, be aware that it is dead at night! Most restaurants are closed, there are few bars around, and nightlife within walking distance of the hotel is pretty much nonexistent. But, you'll enjoy your room at the Residence Inn. It is a good value, nice place, with great staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole S, Sales Specialist at Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the size of our guestrooms, full breakfast, and that the WiFi worked so well! We are so happy you stayed with us and that you found all of the staff you encountered to be "first-rate". We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights during marathon weekend and had a great stay. Rooms were typically big and everything went well during the stay. Front desk personnel were awesome. They would greet you everytime you came through the door. i was able to use points for the stay which i don't get to do often during marathon weekends around the country due to sellouts. nothing like have a great stay and using points. would stay here again...one warning about staying downtown on the weekend. it greats really quite with not much open so it pays to have a car to get around town with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole S, Sales Specialist at Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are so happy you had a "great stay"! It's great to hear that your loyalty to Marriott has proven beneficial with your use of points for your stay and we appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to having you back at the hotel when you come to Houston next!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms are spacious. the kitchen is well equipped and the daily breakfast is amazing! Not just yogurt and toast...........full breakfast every morning.

the staff is very friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole S, Sales Specialist at Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! It i great to hear how much you enjoyed our full breakfast buffet. We appreciate that you acknowledged our friendly and helpful staff. We look forward to seeing you again next year for marathon weekend if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Selected this hotel as base for four day marketing convention at the George R Brown Convention Center. Moved to this hotel after staying at several others over recent years. Selected this one based on location and price. This hotel probably delivered the best upside surprise we've had for a hotel in years. The rooms are very spacious and modern. The facilities are on par with major buisness hotels. The breakfast is superb and served buffet style but on par with off the meny quality. Rooms are appointed with a modern kitchenette that provided us with way to make the stay more comfortable and economical. The location is within walkiing distance of several good places to eat and about a ten minute walk from the Brown. This is the best balance of value and comfort that we have found in Houston--a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole S, Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! It is great to hear you had a wonderful experience and we are happy you enjoyed the full breakfast buffet and our easy access to the George R. Brown. We look forward to welcoming you when your travels bring you back to the Houston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel during the International Quilt Festival. It is very well located, with a pleasant walk to the Convention Centre & other downtown sights (we found this area of downtown Houston safe to walk around day & night) . The staff were very friendly and tried hard, but it would be even better if the front desk staff were more informed about local things (food store, liquor store, transit). The breakfast & room were great. The adjacent (joined) Courtyard Inn has a bistro that sells light meals and drinks, plus the hotel is between Starbucks and McDonalds (but be warned that everything in the downtown closes by 6pm each day). Four blocks towards the Convention Centre is the Phoenician Market, a fabulous speciality food store that has a casual restaurant and also sells wine and a few blocks to the west is a conventional supermarket (Walgreens or Randalls). We did encounter one problem - due to the festival, we had booked the room 5 months prior using the CAA (Cdn Auto Assoc) discount available on the Marriott website. Upon arrival we were told that the hotel did not recognize CAA and that we would be subject to the regular walk-in rate, which was more than double our confirmed reservation rate. We pulled up the Marriott website which clearly shows that CAA is treated in the same manner as AAA and luckily had a hard copy of our reservation. After half an hour of on/off closed door discussions between the front desk staff and our insistence on being treated fairly, we were finally granted the confirmed rate and allowed to check in . Sadly this marred our impression of the hotel and made for a very stressful start to our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole S, Sales Specialist at Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at our Residence Inn and recognizing the location of the hotel as well as the breakfast! I am sorry to hear about your inconvenience during check in but happy it was sorted out while you were with us. We look forward to seeing you again this fall when the International Quilt Festival returns to Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Residence Inn during the International Quilt Festival. We were an easy 6 blocks from the Convention Center. Easy access to the underground, the Metro and the train. The hotel shuttle service was great to help us get around the downtown. The room was comfortable, clean and well-appointed. We had a full kitchen. The staff was AWESOME!! From the moment we arrived until our very last moment, every single employee of this hotel was THE BEST! I cannot stress this enough. Customer service was second-to-none. I highly recommend the Residence Inn--Downtown and will stay here again. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole S, Sales Specialist at Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for staying and recognizing our associates as "AWESOME" and "THE BEST"! We are so honored to have you comment that our "customer service was second-to-none." You made a great choice to stay with us for the 2012 International Quilt Festival and we hope to see you for the Festival in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 904 Dallas Street, Houston, TX 77002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Houston
#120 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown, within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District. This great location also provides a quick commute to NRG Stadium, Toyota Center, and the Museum District on the Metro Light Rail. The spacious suites are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms, and are highlighted by separate living and sleeping areas, HD TVs, fully-equipped kitchens, and newly-renovated bathrooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet and self-parking, a free downtown shuttle, and a complimentary breakfast buffet offering a selection of hearty oatmeal, scrambled eggs, and freshly-made Belgian waffles. Maintain your active lifestyle with a workout in the newly-renovated fitness center, and the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool provide the ideal atmosphere for a relaxing afternoon in the sun. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.