We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for indians” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   904 Dallas Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #144 of 468 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersGold level
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Good place to stay for indians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Good place to stay for indians, attached kitchen, good spa and pool. location is very good and people are good and safe place for business travelers and good connectivity to airport though bus and shuttle.

Room Tip: pool view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    32
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
16
8
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I just finished a very extended stay here (about 8 weeks) for business. The room itself is not bad - I had a very roomy corner unit. The furniture looks fairly new, the bed is pretty comfortable, and the 2 flatscreen TV were a nice touch (even worked with my Xbox). It has the typical kitchenette and a nice sitting area so it feels more like a small apartment than a hotel room.
Aside from the room, the fitness room and the breakfast buffet were both a pretty big disappointment. Also, the maids seem to have figured out I was here for a longer stay and didn't quite keep up with the linens and things after the first couple of weeks.
The location is very convenient if you have business downtown and is literally right next to the Metro rail (used it for a free ride to a Houston Texans game). Be aware that the area is pretty dead after 6PM so your choices will be limited for food in the evenings unless you have a car.
Overall, I would consider staying here again for a long trip, but not before shopping around a bit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very large. Upper floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a very clean hotel with large rooms and a great location only about 3/4 of a mile to the convention center. You are close to the restaurants and Macy's. They provide a very good full size breakfast in the morning that changes everyday. Free wireless and newspapers in the morning. The pool is not heated but they do have a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed here for a quick overnight trip to Houston when attending a meeting at the United Way. We arrived late, but the valet at the Courtyard was available and ready to park our car. ($22 on weekdays, $17 on weekends, ouch!!) We walked down to the Residence Inn (around the corner) to check in and we were promptly greeted and given our room key. They explained where all the amenities were and offered the suggestion of the adjoining hallways to the Courtyard to avoid the cold. They had a small market with a few random items, and the Courtyard had one, too, with different items. There isn't much around the hotel, especially late in the evening, and the streets were pretty empty. (The McDonald's down the street was closed before midnight on a Friday night. That was the only other thing we saw.) Our standard room was quite large, especially for a downtown hotel. The bed was comfortable, but I wish Residence Inn properties would add king beds. They did offer free breakfast starting at 7:30 and going until 10:30 on the weekend. The shower had decent water pressure, and the toilet was separate from the sink area, which I always appreciate. The decor seemed a little less "loud" than the adjoining Courtyard property.

Overall, I think it's a great property, and I found it to be very comfortable. I'm a little turned off by the exorbitant parking expense, especially on the weekends, when Houston appears to be pretty dead, but I understand it's a downtown property. That being said, the size of the room, the friendly employees, and the beds make up for that slight negative. I only wish we had been able to spend a little more time enjoying the room, rather than just sleeping for a few short hours.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Not the first time I have stayed here, but time to share.
A very comfortable hotel that is clean, well located and very friendly.
Well located for good restaurants, George Brown Convention Centre, easy transport to museum district and zoo.
If you need to unload bags in traffic I suggest up pull up at the Courtyard which is just 2 doors along.
Free shuttle offered within 5 miles. A good home for a week.

Room Tip: A good twin share is one of the corner suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Over 80 Lace City Chorus members and supporters stayed in the Residence Inn during the Sweet Adelines International Convention held at the Toyota Center. The hotel staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfasts (complimentary) were excellent and three evenings of the week a social was held with free food and drink - all great!! Rooms were very good indeed and we made use of the well equipped kitchen in our suites. Location was excellent and near all amenities ( and just opposite Macy's). I highly recommend this hotel. Bus to airport (public transport) leaves from just round the corner and at $1.25 it's a lot cheaper than the airport taxis!

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet but those overlooking the swimming pool had great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I recently stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown Houston for 4 nights. To begin with the entrance is a little odd as mentioned in previous reviews, there is not spot to pull right in to the front and unload your bags. We had a driver and he had to pull up out front on the street and pull our bags around, there is a small parking lot just past it which serves the Courtyard but it is inconvenient. The glass doors lock and you have to get someone's attention to allow the doors to open. Check in was easy. We had a 2 bdr/2bath unit which was very spacious. Each room had a queen bed, one room had a desk and the other a larger vanity area. The kitchen was spacious and nice to have. Unfortunately our window looked out on the interior dark walls of the other rooms which for 4 nights was a little dreary. Absolutely no view what so ever. The beds were comfortable enough and bathrooms nice enough. There was quite a bit of noise from the pipes next door which was irritating.
The breakfast buffet was fine. We had free Wifi which was a plus.
There is room service from a limited menu which comes from the Courtyard Hotel and some local delivery services as well. The fixtures in the rooms were nice, flat screen t.v.s in each room and updated furnishings. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 904 Dallas Street, Houston, TX 77002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Houston
#122 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown, within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District. This great location also provides a quick commute to NRG Stadium, Toyota Center, and the Museum District on the Metro Light Rail. The spacious suites are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms, and are highlighted by separate living and sleeping areas, HD TVs, fully-equipped kitchens, and newly-renovated bathrooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet and self-parking, a free downtown shuttle, and a complimentary breakfast buffet offering a selection of hearty oatmeal, scrambled eggs, and freshly-made Belgian waffles. Maintain your active lifestyle with a workout in the newly-renovated fitness center, and the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool provide the ideal atmosphere for a relaxing afternoon in the sun. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Houston Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.