We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Hotel To Rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Houston

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7625 Katy freeway, Houston, TX 77024 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #205 of 451 Hotels in Houston
Austin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tough Hotel To Rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is by far one of the most difficult hotels that I've stayed at to rate. Reason being that it's got it's fair shares of pro's and con's which is why I gave it an "average" rating.

Pro's: Conveniently located off I-10 near 610 junction and across from Edwards Theaters multiplex. Affordable room rates and very friendly staff. This is what I liked the most about this place; staff friendliness. This Holiday Inn location had adequate parking spaces versus other Houston hotels that I've stayed at. All the electronics were fully functional and great wifi connectivity.

Con's: I stayed on the 5th floor facing I-10 and boy could you hear the traffic. The noise issue was very apparent anytime a motorcycle or "sport car" would speed on by. The decor is a bit outdated, but I understand that this is an older Holiday Inn Express. I think if they updated the carpet and bedding the room would look a lot nicer. The furniture could also use some updating, but it's not outdated enough to give the room a tacky look.

Another item that I'd like to add under the "con's" is that this is the only Houston Holiday Inn location that did not give me a "free gift" for being a rewards member. Granted the "free gift" at many locations may consist of bottled water, chips and candy, but still. lol

So all in all if you're looking for a convenient location to stay at without breaking the bank this is your place. The staff will make you feel very much at home. While I did not eat the breakfast I saw many in the lobby helping themselves. So the free breakfast must be good.

Room Tip: My recommendation would be to try a room that is not facing I-10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
12
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Bit out-dated and rough on the edges, but service was good and location was extremely convenient for my travels. Proper gym would be great. All the services were near and convenient. Quite place, even though freeway runs right next to it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear TTUHelsinki,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am pleased to know that you found the hotel's location perfect for your travel needs and you were satisfied with the service received from our staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

I am sorry that you found that our facility is a bit out dated. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be of service to you in your next travel to the area.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hotel is located just near junction of 610 and I10 on West side of Houston so provides easy access to West Houston locations. Also means some traffic noise in rooms that face I10. Hotel is clean and well maintained if a little dated. Staff are helpful and friendly. Usual Holiday Inn Express amenities available (ie free breakfast, pool, etc). Bed was very comfy.

Room Tip: Rooms on side away from I10 quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

If you are heading West on you travels, this hotel is a great location. You're morning traffic is going east into Houston. This Holiday Inn Exp. is just one block back from the freeway but is very quiet.
You well enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Normally this is a favorite get away hotel for a weekend. It's not the Westin, but it is clean and very family friendly. The staff is also very pleasant. However,. this past weekend I had to shower in tepid water. I really hated that. When I mentioned it to the front desk they said that the hotel had been having problems with the boiler. I wasn't offered anything to compensate for my inconvenience. Apparently this is an ongoing problem. The beds in my queen suite were less comfortable then the beds in a regular room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Rebecca J,

Thank you for your review. We certainly apologize for the hot water issue and for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. We understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Our management has taken note of this and proper action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature will not reoccur in the future.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good staff, good food, but has maintenance issues. One working elevator, no hot water in sink sometimes, no water at all for a couple of hours one time, a water saving commode that had so little water swirling around the bowl that you had to hand clean it after each use, multiple trips to front desk because the drink labels on the machine were wrong (i.e. you never knew what drink may pop out.) The price went up by $10 each night for 3 nights??? All in all----I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear MikeMc10,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see the issues with the plumbing prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the perfect score for the Service you received. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. The rooms were nice, but the mattress were a little too firm, the shower had little to almost no hot water so the shower wasn't very pleasant and to top it all off we stayed on da 6th floor with only one working elevator. Overall it was convenient to downtown and the nightclub we went to.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Sorry your stay wasn't perfect. We are in the process of changing our entire hot water system and we had one elevator down for maintenance during your stay. We'd love for you to come back and see enjoy our new and improved hot water system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houston

Address: 7625 Katy freeway, Houston, TX 77024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Spa Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed and changing the look of our property for you. We are working hard and would love to have you stay with us. Welcome, we want our home to be yours. With free breakfast get your day started on the right foot. Enjoy our indoor pool without getting the sunburn or sand. Our staff is here to make your day incredible and if we are unable we will make it right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston - Memorial Park Area Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.