We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Houston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Houston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7625 Katy freeway, Houston, TX 77024 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #195 of 468 Hotels in Houston
netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

good hotel near all major highways great place to stay nice pool good breakfast enough parking space beds where good big room.i certainly will stay there again when i am in the area a lot of things to do arround houston dont forget the Nasa spacecenter while you are in houston a lot of good restaurants in that area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments.

We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you staying with us again.

I hope you come back soon and often.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
13
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 7th floor so had no problem with parking lights or road noise. The only thing we heard were the occasional fire truck. Clean and simple. Good breakfasts. Beds were a little hard. Just a traditional HI Express.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We like to know that our guest enjoyed their stay. We strive to make sure that every stay if wonderful for our guest. It is comments like this that help us focus on what our guest want and need. Because you are what makes our jobs possible.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koolchic_1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

After seeing the reviews from others, I made sure to get a room on the back side of the hotel. While I didn't hear the highway traffic, I had a bright light right outside my room which was annoying. Also, the air conditioner never turned off. To keep the room cool, you would hear the loud AC all night. If you turn it off, it's stuff and hot. The insulation between the rooms is non-existant as not only could I hear the people above me walking around, I could hear the people on one side of me every time they used the bathroom. The bed and pillows were horrible. I have a pain in my neck from trying to find a comfortable position with these pillows. I travel almost every week and I am used to sleeping on different styles of beds and pillows and can adjust very easily but not here. I was supposed to stay 2 nights but cut it short to one because of the horrible conditions with the bed, AC and noise.
The furniture was in good condition and the front desk woman was pleasant...the hotel stay was just not restful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear koolchic_1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and furniture.

However, We’re sorry about the air conditioning and for the bed. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Other than the location, I had no problem with my stay at this hotel. Good price, breakfast was not bad, and the rooms were clean. Can't ask for much more than that. My parents enjoyed their stay here, as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that the location may have been either difficult to find or to get to. Although by the sounds you of it I'm glad that your stay was not all bad. I hope that if you ever in the area again that you will visit once again. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel was good. It was clean and staff was friendly.

I was happy to see how brightly lit the parking lot was until I realized that placement and brightness of the lighting affected my sleep. The large amount of light seeping in around the curtains made it look that the sun had risen and negatively affected my sleep. I was on the 3rd floor, north side of the hallway, 3 or 4 rooms from the west end of the building. This made me downgrade from a 4 to a 3 in the rating.

Other people with my company who stayed there did not have this issue. It must have been the placement of my room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_MaddenHouston, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to comment on your stay. Our rooms do have blackout shades which is usually enough to lower contain the light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Centrally located and convenient location just off the Katy Freeway. Prices are reasonable considering the location. It is easy to get to local attractions. Memorial Park is a 10-15 minute walk, or a 5 minute drive, away, which is plus--a great place to go for a run.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a LA Fitness across the street you can use for free as a hotel guest--a nice feature not advertised on the hotel website. The availability of guest washers and dryers on the 3rd and 5th floor is also a helpful convenience.

Negatives: not much in the way of dining options within walking distance, unless you like Jack in the Box. Even though my room was on the top floor of the hotel, I could hear freeway traffic throughout the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Being so close to Memorial Park is nice especially when the Festivals start in the summer.
We have lots of guest that enjoy the LA Fitness especially the great saunas they have.
Although we have sound proof windows and concrete all around. Being off of one of the most major freeways in Houston does sometimes provide an issue. We are lucky that within two to three blocks more restaurants have been built. We also have a few places that deliver as well. I hope that you stay again and give you a chance to explore the area more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express motel is on the Katy Freeway, near Houston's Texas-sized Memorial Park. We've stayed there twice, both in December, three years apart and it was a fine place to say both times. The location is excellent, out of the intensely crowded Galleria area but close enough to all the places you want to visit in Houston.
The hotel is superbly well maintained with the furniture and equipment showing no signs of wear after three years' use. Despite its proximity to the busy Katy Freeway, the rooms are amazingly quiet. The fitness center is small for a six-story hotel but the equipment is in excellent condition.
The only less than five-star feature was a relatively limited breakfast choice which was probably due to the Christmas holiday rush.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houston

Address: 7625 Katy freeway, Houston, TX 77024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed and changing the look of our property for you. We are working hard and would love to have you stay with us. Welcome, we want our home to be yours. With free breakfast get your day started on the right foot. Enjoy our indoor pool without getting the sunburn or sand. Our staff is here to make your day incredible and if we are unable we will make it right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston - Memorial Park Area Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.