We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Houston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Houston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7625 Katy freeway, Houston, TX 77024 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #196 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
“April 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed for 4 days, the rooms was spacious and nicely cleaned. The breakfast I found excellent with a nice selection from pancakes, bagel, muffin, bread, yogurt, cereal, milks, eggs, sausages, buscuit, bacon to a nice selection of teas & juice-very complete. The staff is friendly and very attentive. Location was great with easy access to freeway only 10 mins to Galleria Mall and 15 to Downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind words.

We are glad that our guest enjoy our breakfast. We have struggled so much to get a good varity that everyone likes. Most guest love our Cinnamon rolls and our one button Pancake machine. On Fridays my family would make a tradition of getting donuts and kolaches to enjoy. I brought that experiance here every Friday we have donuts and kolaches to enjoy with all our guest. We hope you come back soon and enjoy another stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
13
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've stay here twice when biz trip in Houston. The hotel is close to freeway. It is also not far away from Galleria with proper room rate. The parking area is not small. The front desk always help customer on what they need. The room is well cleaned and the AC is in good condition.
The only concern is the room close to the Katy freeway side is a little big noise than opposite side.

Room Tip: You'd better to select the side opposite the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We love when our guest enjoy our property as much as we enjoy working here. We strive to make everything better for our guest. Unfortantly yes we are rather close to the Katy Freeway (I-10). We understand for some this is a bother although we have several guest that enjoy the view and the sounds of the freeway. We are constantly striving for our guest to enjoy their stay. With that being said if any of our guest ever have issues with the sound we urge them to talk to the front desk and we will do everything in our power to make sure they get a good room that they can enjoy.
Thanks again for the great comments and hope you come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Staff very friendly & helpful , front desk went out of their way to accommodate me at check in. Rooms about what expected at HI Express clean nice, AC not working that well but ok. Great location.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for the kind words. We strive to make our property friendly. We do not want to be like some that shove a key at you and direct you where to go. We are welcoming you into our home and we want you to feel that we are happy to see our guests. We hope you keep comming back and we promise to keep being friendly and keep improving our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I've stayed here on numerous occasions on business trips to Houston. Invariably the front desk staff are welcoming and interested, the rooms are spacious with a decent bathroom and effective air-conditioning for those hot summer temperatures! In addition to expected coffee machine, you get a microwave and fridge - useful if you are planning on staying more than a couple of nights.

It's a Holiday Inn Express so you don't get much in terms of facilities, though there is a pool and small gym & I was told I could use the gym on the other side of the freeway too. Near that gym are a few decent restaurants and cafes to make up for the lack of dining in the hotel itself, along with cinema, bowling alley etc. Very convenient. There is a breakfast area in the hotel, though food is very basic (muffins, pre-processed egg products etc.) eaten off styrofoam plates with plastic cutlery, but the attendant there is very charming.

The hotel is right on the Katy Freeway, which is great for getting out & about - the Galleria is about 10 drive minutes away, for example. Note that if you are a visitor to Houston, you will need a car - the area is pedestrian hostile!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter than the rooms at the front, which overlook the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We appreciate that you keep coming back. We work very hard to make sure that all are guest enjoy their stay. With every comment and every review we look at what we can do to make it better. We know that we are a home away from home for most.

Our property is a bit on the more smaller type as we try to concentrate on what our guest need most. A large part of our guest have said these are the amenities they look for in our hotel. Though we strive to make things better we are constantly changing to meet your needs.

We are thankful that you stay with us and we hope you keep coming back. At the end of the day it is us here to make sure your stay is perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Fabulous staff, great service, very nice rooms (microwave and refrigerator), incredible breakfast and no noise from the freeway. The location is both wonderful and difficult. It is fairly central and you can move around the city and area from a number of freeways. It is a little difficult in terms of getting off and on the freeway...very busy freeway and usually had to get across several lanes rapidly to make the appropriate exit. My advice would be to try to arrive and leave at non-rush hour times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand how difficult or frustrating the city traffic can be. I think in any big city it is all about the side roads and avoiding the hot spots. Having our property right off the such a major intersection as I-10 and 610 leads to some great benefits. You get down town in less then 10 min. The Galleria less then 5 min. Memorial Mall less then 5 min. North & South Houston less then 10 min. When you are fighting rush hour it does tend to get longer. We hope you come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stay here most of the times i come to Houston, the other times i stay at another H/I simply because it puts me closer to my clients. This Hotel is very Central close to hundreds of restaurants, mall, entartainment. The staffg is incredible and will bend over backwards to take care of you, when at the Hotel say hi to Eddie the Manager tell them Luis sent you, this man will do anything to make sure you have the best stay ever, There is only one person that comes across as not caring and she only deals with the meeting, but luckuly you may never see her. Stay here you will love the staff, management and location, ohh and they also serve hot chocolate chips cookies every afternoon which is kind of nice to have as a snack after returning from work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thanks, Luis

We are always glad to have you stay with us. As much as we try when you come to visit it is more like a good friend coming to stay a while. Regardless of what some may think we love having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. I'm sure Lovette will have a big plate of cookies waiting for you.

Till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed at this HIE for four nights. It's been recently renovated and the room, bed, bedding, etc. were all in excellent condition. It's right next to the I-10 Freeway so I asked for and received a room at the back of the hotel. I never heard any outside noise, except in the middle of one night when someone's car alarm went off repeatedly over the span of about 30 minutes.

While I was there, the pool was being repaired, so although it was available, the water temp. was not comfortable. I told the front desk staff that one of the reasons I booked into this location was because of the pool. They cheerfully adjusted my bill in keeping with their 100% satisfaction guarantee.

During my stay, I had a few other requests of the front desk, and Griselda cheerfully and professionally took care of them.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter (away from the freeway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I sorry you had to deal with that car alarm. Although we are even more apologetic about the unforeseen repairs that we had to make to our Whirl-pool. I am glad that my staff stepped up and made sure that your stay was taken care of and you still partially enjoyed your stay. We know we can not go back and fix what went wrong, but we always look to the future to and learn from our mistakes trying to make each stay better than the last.

Thanks for being a Guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houston

Address: 7625 Katy freeway, Houston, TX 77024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed and changing the look of our property for you. We are working hard and would love to have you stay with us. Welcome, we want our home to be yours. With free breakfast get your day started on the right foot. Enjoy our indoor pool without getting the sunburn or sand. Our staff is here to make your day incredible and if we are unable we will make it right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston - Memorial Park Area Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.