We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, flavorful, excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Local Foods

Local Foods
2424 Dunstan Rd, Houston, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fresh, flavorful, excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

You have got to be kidding me with that egg salad sandwich. Many days into a business trip and growing weary of heavy BBQ, this place was such a welcome discovery. Obviously my choice was the egg salad sandwich, and it was the best I've ever had. The perfectly-spiced egg salad melds with the salty crisp of the amaaaazing pretzel bread. It is filling, it is flavorful, and you can feel good about the fresh, local ingredients. All this at a reasonable price in a bright, modern setting. Yum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Charming and Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This little place is absolutely charming and I love how they support local farm markets and how they have seasonal foods...Great place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

When you walk in the restaurant you’ll be surprised as it’s like walking in a small farmer’s market.

Sandwich there is healthy and delicious.Perfect mix of fresh vegetable salad, starch and protein...... not typically Texas food but definitely the best choice even for guys on diet. Will stop by there next time going to Houston.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Healthy in Houston?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

No chicken fried chicken on this menu. Very delicious food, and the side were delicious despite some of them being things I usually avoid--like kale. It's busy, and trust me, there's a reason.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“FREEZING COLD, but delicious food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a cute, hipster place, with wonderful, local, fresh food. However, the deliciousness of the meal was badly marred by having to endure the icy cold blast of the air conditioning vents blowing directly on us. Even the waiter, who I pointed this out to, said he found it too cold. The thing is, it could SO easily be corrected by simpy redirecting the vents to point 'up' and not down at the customers. Please, Local Foods, change this one small but significant thing so that I can comfortably eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Foods also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Local Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local Foods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.