We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, a lot of fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chama Gaucha Brazillian Steakhouse

Chama Gaucha Brazillian Steakhouse
5865 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77057
713.244.9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7,226 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Brazilian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, a lot of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I've been to two other Brazilian steakhouses (both in Salt Lake), and this is by far the best. Food quality on the salad bar was awesome and the there were about 40 choices. My wife does not likes lot of meat and was very happy the salad bar was s well stocked. The meat starts coming and everything they brought was outstanding! The servers were very knowledgable and offered to accommodate my daughter's food allergies. The dining room was full, but no less than 4 people repeatedly checked on each member of our party (in an unobtrusive way) to make sure we had what we needed and were having a good time. The price was about $50.00 per person, but we were celebrating my daughter's birthday so I did not mind and felt like I was getting my monies worth. We have a Chama Gaucha in San Antonio and we will definitely try it out. Highly recommend this restaurant. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    27
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Doesn't top Fogo de Chao”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We decided to try something other than Fogo de Chao for husband's birthday, as he wanted Brazilian food, gaucho style. Seeing good reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to try. Very courteous, very good service, it just didn't top our expectations. We expected more authenticity, better food, but were somewhat disappointed. The cheesebreads weren't better, just bulkier. The meats weren't better, just more grizzle and fat on them. The salad bar was similar (replica) of Fogo de Chao, so no complaints there. The service was good. The locale and the ambiance was very "barn like", not elegant or stylish as we hoped. It's clean and OK, but the price is the same as Fogo de Chao.

All in all, average, but still has a long way to go until it reaches the class of Fogo de Chao.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great service - Rest average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The place looks stunning from the outside...the staff is very motivated and there seems to be a manager or owner roaming around as well. Everybody has a very good and friendly attitude...so they must be doing something right. Here the mediocre part. I found the salad bar and meat average at best. I think there are competitors on Westheimer , who are much better. The atmosphere inside is kind of lame as well... just a long large room with high ceiling. This place seems to be more reasonable priced , however. Nut much...but they are. I gave it 4 stars for the friendliness...Great for large groups and business.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“dinner with a large group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

wonderful service, very good selection on salad bar, the meats were all good and quality cuts, cocktails were made to perfection, can get a little busy here and a little noisy the large round tables are great for a large group so you all feel together. great food and great price for the meal. come very very hungry. I hope you find this helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scilla, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Buenisimo!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Loved the food ovbiously, the drinks where great and the service was outstanding, besides the waiters walking around with the meat; it seamed like we had 2 or 3 waiters just tending our table, so we wouldn't miss anything. The manager came to our table several times as well. Loved it! and the price was lower than the competitors, will defenetly go back !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chama Gaucha Brazillian Steakhouse also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chama Gaucha Brazillian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chama Gaucha Brazillian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.