We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inexpensive hotel. Top notch customer service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8888 Gulf Freeway, From N Exit 36 From S Exit 38, Houston, TX 77017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Rockport, Texas, United States
1 review
“Great inexpensive hotel. Top notch customer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I originally booked through expedia, which usually saves me a few bucks since I travel a lot. When I checked in, the manager asked me who I booked through, and asked me to cancel my reservation through expedia, and rebook it through him. For 4 nights, he beat expedia's price by about $50 for the whole trip. Super nice manager and his wife. If you need a small, very clean hotel without breaking the bank, this is worth it. Call the hotel and book your reservation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
7
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were in town for a cheap vacation and this place seemed to have good reviews and a cheap price. Arrived super late, the front desk clerk was very attentive and check-in was quick. We had a room right by the office, which I liked since this hotel is outdoor only, room doors open directly outside (major turn-off for me). The room was sub-par. Not as clean as I would have liked to have, found a hair on the bed, massive stain by the front of the door, dirty bathroom door, doesn't look like the room is frequented that often. Bed was as hard as a rock and all the furniture is metal, which is interesting at best. Did the jump on the bed test- bed didn't move, it was like jumping on the ground- no give. Blanket was super scratchy and pillows are really flat. But we we're so tired we crashed out regardless. It is right by the interstate, but that didn't bother us a lot. Not a terrible stay, but probably will not stay again. Reviews and pictures make it look a lot nicer than it really is.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

In hindsight, I should have asked for a room on the other side of the hotel.

If you stay on the side facing the roadS, then you will be in for a semi-restless night. It's not so bad after about 10pm, but at around 5am, the rush starts and the traffic is clearly audible from the door.

The room was not bad, although being on this side of the hotel it felt like it hadn't been stay in in months. When I brought my dinner back to the hotel some fruit flies showed up! Yuck!

There were no fitted ("bottom", aka the ones with elastic) sheets on the bed, which means if you're a moving sleeper, the sheets get messed up very easily.

TV wasn't bad. They have a lot of channels available. The Wi-fi was fast (maybe because not a big hotel and not a lot of people staying here).

Just a word of warning, the hotel on maps seems to be farther away from the freeway...it is RIGHT NEXT to the freeway. You can throw a ball onto the freeway, you are so close. I also didn't read any reviews here on the road noise which will easily deter a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the opposite side of the hotel! The front faces the freeway, and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ask for room in rear because of a review I saw. Glad I did. The staff was great, very helpful. Breakfast was not much, been spoiled.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice hotel was pleasant personnel and nice facility. Mark was particularly helpful. My only complaint was the TV
was not the best reception nor the easiest to navigate. I will return when in the area next. Perhaps the tv problems will be resolved.

D K Cole.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport

Address: 8888 Gulf Freeway, From N Exit 36 From S Exit 38, Houston, TX 77017
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Houston/Hobby Airport offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, in-room Wi-Fi, free coffee in lobby, and free continental breakfast. All guest rooms include microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, balcony, hairdryer, cable TV, ESPN, alarm clock radio, free local calls, and wake-up service. At Americas Best Value Inn Houston/Hobby Airport, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houston
Super Eight Houston
Houston Super 8
Houston Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.